We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast joint”
Review of Brunches

Brunches
Ranked #86 of 143 Restaurants in West Columbia
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast joint”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Good southern cooking. Only tried breakfast and it's a winner. Good hometown local feel. great place to meet up with a group of friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Southern service stands out”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stellar, friendly reception from start to finish. I ordered the biscuits & sausage gravy and as an after thought when the waitress asked me, "Is that all?" I got scrambled eggs, too. What a surprise when the biscuits arrived and it was more than enough for a full meal. The eggs were delicious, the biscuits & gravy was very good, but by no means the best I've ever had. The gravy had a lot of crumbled sausage with great flavor. This place is pretty much your classic diner, the kind of dive where you get a hair in your food and just shrug and eat around it (actually happened). In a nice restaurant or somewhere the staff wasn't as genial, I would be put off and complain about something like that, but here I just went with it. Everyone else mostly enjoyed their food - the pancakes were said to be okay and the only other complaint I heard was that the cheese grits had an "off" flavor.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keh04g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Agreed: Good Food and Good People”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This greasy spoon does a great job doing what they should all do: making you feel like you are at home. The help is always friendly and funny. The fry cooks are having fun. The food is good (but you have to fix the gravy). Regular breakfast stop for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shadowfax_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, just great food and people”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a little diamond in the rough for me. It's close by home and work. I go there about once a week for breakfast (served all day)and lunch. The people are friendly, joke around with you, and just seem happy! The food is definitely "southern" and if you don't like fried food or bacon, then it might not be for you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dappersmooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Need to try it again...”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I ate there for my first time a few weeks ago. The country fried steak was a bit rubbery, but the mac & cheese and fried okra were on point! I was hoping to try the fried green tomatoes, but they were out. :( I will need to go again to see how another entre item tastes. Staff was very friendly. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinBeth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brunches also viewed

 
West Columbia, SC
 

Been to Brunches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing