We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai Food In Columbia area.”
Review of Mai Thai

Mai Thai
Ranked #5 of 144 Restaurants in West Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Gilbert, SC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food In Columbia area.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I dine here at least 2X/month. It is a small restaurant and difficult to get seated at certain times, but the food never disappoints. My favorite standby to have sake, Coconut Shrimp soup or Wanton soup, Chicken Satay appetizer, and then split a dish of chicken and shrimp Pad Thai. Its so good I almost never order anything else. I have tried their curries and salads which are excellent in their own right. But my favorite is the Pad Thai. Warm atmosphere, but crowded. There is a very diverse dining element here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherokee78W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    39
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Thai Place in Columbia”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have had one dinner and one lunch here, and both were excellent. I ordered green curry for the dinner, but had them substitute duck for the meat, and it was wonderful. Perfectly crispy, not super-salty like I've had at other restaurants in the past, and the sauce was just right in heat level, consistency and flavor. We got bunch of appetizers and those were great too. I didn't have any major issues with the service as others have commented. Actually, considering I did the 'substitution thing' on my green curry, and got what I wanted, I was very pleased with the service. Pricing was pretty good too - a good place to pick up the tab LOL!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlaineDeLancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Green curry”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great take a way as well as eating in. Small place but full each time I went after work.
Green curry was a bit thin, but flavorful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BSeattle206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food for columbia standard but very poor service .”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We liked the food it taste fresh and healthy but service has always been poor and slow ( assuming the good food requires more time. we gave them benefit of doubt ) but service almost always seems preferential. Have tried them almost 4 times but we r meet with the same service all the time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Devas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Thai food. Terrible Service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is hands-down the best Thai restaurant in Columbia. Just don't go if you're in a rush or need to be out in less than an hour. The service is painfully slow. However, the food more than makes up for it. Chicken Amazing (peanut sauce) and the Green and Red curries are among my favorite dishes. The atmosphere inside the restaurant is very nice and cozy. The restaurant looks more than sketchy from the outside though. Blacked out windows and a flashing LED "OPEN" sign.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timothyn314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Thai also viewed

 

Been to Mai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing