We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in the heart of downtown Columbia”
Review of Terra

Terra
Ranked #4 of 144 Restaurants in West Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in the heart of downtown Columbia”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a great place to have dinner in Columbia. This was our first time dining at Terra and we really enjoyed the whole experience. From the welcoming hostess and wait staff, to the excellently prepared entrees, we definitely and highly recommend Terra and hope to come back, the next time we are in Columbia. The dishes were prepared so well, with delicious seasonings and sauces. Everyone in our party of four enjoyed their entrees. The wine that our server recommended was also delicious and paired well with my steak dish, in particular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramius44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    32
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine dining, locavore cuisine done right!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Ate at Terra last night. Our party of 3 (2 adults and a child) were greeted and seated promptly and with warm courtesy. Front of house has their operational work flow well synchronized. The menu is well thought out, really playing up local ingredients and flavors, using seasonal items to full effect. The Butcher's plate appetizer is a charcuterie plate that caught my eye right away. It is a GENEROUS appetizer, so much so that it was my entree for te evening. Beautifully house-cured meats (coppa and sopressata), jager-wurst and rabbit rillette were accompanied by a ginger marmalade (divine), pickled sweet grapes and a house stone-ground mustard, with plenty of bread to go around. This is easily a dish that an be shared. Salads and pizzas were also had- wood fired pizza with a perfect thin yet uncharred crust.
The entrees are equally inventive and elegant without being pretentious. Plenty of seafood (grouper, mahi mahi tonight) as well as quail and rabbit!
The wine list is expansive and moderately priced. Had a Lovely Proencale rose' which is available by the glass or bottle. Our server was attentive without being intrusive although it did take a little while to place our order. Terra's GM is also always on the floor, checking on tables and even cleared some of our dishes between courses as he passed by our table. Talk about team-work!
The ambience is cosy, exposed brick walls and subdued lighting, enough to make one comfortable. There is patio dining which we didn't check out this time but it's on the agenda for next time- we WILL be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATravelerNotATourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Imaginative food, done right”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lamb mac n' cheese? Really? Yes, it sounded dubious, but tasted rich and right. Another appetizer, the Basque egg, was so good I used way too much bread to soak up the sauce. The grilled quail was tender, no mean feat. We would redux the rabbit duo anytime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MomWaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice interior, comfortable amount of space to accomodate the dinner crowd, attentive waitstaff and excellent food. Our dishes were delicious and were served with well designed sauces.

The price for dinner are high enough that I couldn't see dining here for a casual evening with friends. However, for a special night out or in celebration, it's absolutely worth every penny. Great for business dinners as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent consistent restaurant in the Columbia SC Vista.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great menu with local ingredients. We had the special Grouper and it was wonderful, Howard, the friendly ever present manager) is gone but Michael F will fill his shoes. We visit a few times a month.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing