We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Strudel

Cafe Strudel
Ranked #2 of 141 Restaurants in West Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restored 1920's era building. Eclectic decor that supports the local art community. 1
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So so good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is great! The food is really great and the prices are as well. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great place and worth the excursion across the river.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    92
    24
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Strudel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

They have moved down the street from their original location to 300 State Street. More room and on the ground level. They also have a small room for groups less then 20. I had the hangover hashbrowns. My daughter had the french fries and the special which was fish tacos. The fries are tossed in duck fat & truffle oil. Served with green onion aioli. The description doesn't sound good but the fries were wonderful. We all agreed we would get them again. Three of us shared cherry cream cheese strudel and we all thought it was amazing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 55butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Very Bohemian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We ate lunch at the newest location of Cafe Strudel and it was very good. We shared a Monte Cristo sandwich, my wife had a salad and I had a bowl of the pulled pork chili. then we had a pecan bar for desert. All of the food was really good. It cost us about $20 for the lunch. The sandwich was good, the chili was very thick with a kind of non descript taste. I expect chile to have a certain taste and this one did not. Mind you, it wasn't bad just not what I expected from a dish with chili in it's name. The pecan bar was served with a generous helping of cool whip and it was very good. I'm sure we will go back to try something else.
The atmosphere was very bohemian with original art work on the walls. When we arrived at 1:45 for lunch, the place was packed. There were only a couple vacant tables. This is the kind of place you go to enjoy good conversation along with good food. We were surprised to see the restaurant so full so long after the traditional lunch hour.
I recommend Cafe Struedel, I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldwingtriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly people and fantastic breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience here. It was my bday and they all came over and talked wishing me a great day. Those hashbrowns are amazing, hungover or not. Desert is also amazing. Fancy, clean restrooms put it over the top. Go here. Enjoy.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bozogoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Different"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Cafe Strudel is not your average cafe. Their menu is quite creative and unique. Be sure to try their "duck fat fries" made with truffle oil. Some of the sandwiches are named after the cook that invented them....ie: the Kyle

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Strudel also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Strudel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing