We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Gamecocks”

Maurice's Piggie Park BBQ
Ranked #9 of 144 Restaurants in West Columbia
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Buffet
Description: The Original location of South Carolina's Favorite Barbeque! Real BBQ, Cooked on our Hickory Wood-Fired Pits for 24 Hours!We cook our BBQ the old fashioned way, over hickory coals for 24 hours to optimize that smoky flavor with no preservatives or chemicals! Taste our Ribs, Chicken, & Brisket, and one of the Best Burgers in Columbia! Family Owned and Operated since 1953.Country Buffet at this location in West Columbia, Wed - Sun lunch, Thurs - Sat dinner.
Orlando
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Go Gamecocks”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My Wife & I always eat here every year when we drive through Cloumbia for the last 20 yrs. We noticed last year they had droped the gourmet out of their food. We went their on 11-13-2012. We should have known something was wrong only 2 people in the restaurant. This place always had a 1hr. wait to get a table. The pork was so dry had to put a half a bottle of sauce on it to get it down. Had a table spoon of hash on very old white rice. Their mac& cheese had a half inch burnt crust on the top of it. This food was left over from their last buffet. Did not stick around for desert. Will not stop here next yrar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 789CharlesOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    72
    39
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Expected More”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had heard a lot about this place so I decided to try the buffet.
It wasn't that great, as the staff didn't pay attention to the food very well, at least the night I was there. Nothing like some of the barbeque places on the SC coast. But, I still managed to fill up.
I always manage to get my money's worth.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We just stumbled upon this restaurant and I'm glad we did. We were in town for a grappling tournament and needed to find some good food. We were looking for a buffet and we found a great one. The food was great. I had been craving pole beans this summer and theirs were wonderful. The BBQ was tender and tasty. My husband enjoyed the shrimp a lot. We got there close to closing time, but they didn't take any of the food off the buffet. The staff was really nice. If I ever return to Columbia, SC for any reason I will make it a point to eat there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jimpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gloppy, sloppy BBQ”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Owner's history of bigoted remarks make the food taste even worse. Mustard based sauce in unusual so I thought it would be worth trying. Not so.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mary Denis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unless you like mustard based BBQ don't go here”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I hesitate to write a negative review about BBQ, but this place was awful. Unless you really like mustard based sauce, you're making a mistake to go here. I was really expecting great things from South Carolina Que, but even Sonny's in Florida was way better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khaqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maurice's Piggie Park BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Maurice's Piggie Park BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing