We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't know about it until...”
Review of The Backyard Cafe

The Backyard Cafe
Ranked #15 of 144 Restaurants in West Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Fresh made comfort food! Cooked to order CAB Burgers, Beef, and Chicken. Homemade Ice Cream.
Restaurant details
Description: Fresh made comfort food! Cooked to order CAB Burgers, Beef, and Chicken. Homemade Ice Cream.
Bar Mills, Maine
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Didn't know about it until...”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

my husband took me here for lunch. It's a little out of the way, but if you're in the area, it's worth a stop in. There's plenty of parking, too. The menu looked very good with sandwiches, salads, and burgers. I ordered the bleu cheese burger--very good! Service was fast, too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acchapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little "out of the way" ...”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Tucked back in a side street. Food is very good, service quick and friendly. I'll go back again and suggest to friends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mgkdrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Columbia!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I visited this little restaurant for the first time and loved it! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The salad portions are huge. I had the MIKE'S CHEESEBURGER. My friend had the PIMENTO CHEESEBURGER. Both were equally awesome! I also had the loaded fries which were loaded with cheese and perfectly cooked bacon. We split the OOEY GOOEY CHOCOLATE CAKE with their homemade vanilla for dessert. I will return to this spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank KaeShae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
390 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Staff...”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have ordered take-out from here on many occasions since the cafe is real close to home,they have daily lunch and dinner specials as well as a decent selection on the menu..
We have never been disappointed with the food or the staff.

As others have mentioned,the homemade ice cream is YUM...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolinaCoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not Enjoyable”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had been to The Backyard Cafe a few years ago and really enjoyed it. We went back last month and it was not enjoyable at all. We had trouble finding a place to park and then had to walk past a dumpster with horrible smells, then when we got in, we were seated in the front room, with people walking past us constantly and the flies inside were very bothersome. I'm not sure what happened since we were there last. The food was not impressive at all. It was very disappointing to us since we had driven 45 minutes to get there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bradbear6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Backyard Cafe also viewed

 
West Columbia, SC
 

Been to The Backyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing