We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took 30-45 min. for 2 burgers/1 hoagie to arrive”
Review of The Backyard Cafe

The Backyard Cafe
Ranked #15 of 144 Restaurants in West Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Fresh made comfort food! Cooked to order CAB Burgers, Beef, and Chicken. Homemade Ice Cream.
Restaurant details
Description: Fresh made comfort food! Cooked to order CAB Burgers, Beef, and Chicken. Homemade Ice Cream.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Took 30-45 min. for 2 burgers/1 hoagie to arrive”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Friendly server; however, we sat at a booth for about 30-45 min. to receive 2 burgers and 1 hoagie....During this time, NO bread/butter or crackers/butter were made available...Almost got up and left, but we chose to wait it out....Food was good, but due to the wait (w/no nibbles made availabe beforehand), we will not return....We were all starving before arriving, but this is really pushing the button for people to make people wait this long...Again, if you're going to make people SIT OUT time as such, make something available to cover the looooonnnng wait--with nothing sitting before a family at a table.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimberly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Ice Cream”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We tried the Backyard Cafe after reading several excellent reviews about it in our search for a great burger in Columbia. We were definitely not disappointed.

It is a little off the beaten path (but well worth the drive). The Backyard Cafe is basically a house converted into a restaurant. It has a very homey and friendly feel from the moment you walk through the front door. The wait staff greeted us as soon as we walked through the door and took us to a booth. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive throughout the meal.

We ordered the Backyard Burger - a monster with bacon, cheese, mushrooms, onions and their own variety of a special sauce. The sauce tastes somewhat similar to a tartar sauce and is amazing on the burger. We also tried the turkey sandwich, which was also good. It provided a nice lighter alternative to the burger. We ended the meal with Peanut Butter Girl Scout cookie ice cream, a delightful finish to a good meal.

I can definitely say that we will be going back to visit the Backyard Cafe again soon.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Soulforged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Visited on the way from Florida North. Had a great dinner meal. Both my wife and I had the "Backyard Bits" (Marinated Steak dish). She needed to be Gluten-Free and they prepared as such. For desert we had the "home-made" ice cream. Loved it

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EdieandJerryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia,S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Good Alternative to Chain Restaurnats"”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Backyard Cafe(TBC) is a locally owned/managed restaurant in a remodeled house patronized by many local residents, i.e. a restaurant "CHEERS" as well as many visitors to the West Columbia area. The decor is not fancy but it's clean..***When weather permits, eating and/or having a beverage under the Large Back "porch" or screened-in area is pleasurable.TBC also has guitarist/singers perform on weekends.

As for the food, the food taste very fresh. TBC emphasizes that they support local farmers. For lunch, I usually get the veggie burger with a side order of seasoned french fries or a turkey wrap with fries .The fries are among the best I've had. According to our waistress, TBC uses expensive high quality oil. I eat Veggie burgers often at home and the one at TBC is excellent served on a quality hamburger roll with all of the usual fixings. Other sides are available. I also enjoy their sweet tea.

My wife enjoyes their sandwiches and salads( many to choose from) as well, usually favoring the Grilled Chicken Breast or chicken salad. At night, the menu features additional full size entrees/dinners. I can't comment on the dinners. Our lunch was approximately $10 each with tea and tax.

TBC has daily specials and you can sign up for their email newsletters that informs you of specials and a free entree for your birthday. TBC prices are reasonable especially considering the quality ingrediants and is a worthwhile alternative to the chain restaurants.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank renegadepastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great family run restaurant!”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Excellent food with lots of selections! They have fabulous hamburgers. I especially like the pimento cheese burger! Also has great hamburger steak, teriyaki salmon, beef tips, pot roast, and many more! Be sure to save room for the homemade ice cream. They have many flavors daily! This is a nice family run restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LivNXS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Backyard Cafe also viewed

 
West Columbia, SC
 

Been to The Backyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing