We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Holiday Inn property in the South”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
“best Holiday Inn property in the South”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Our stay was top notch and would recommend to any business traveler and/or families. This hotel has thoroughly committed itself to the green initiative. This is a hotel doing good things for the community and its guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Bruce S,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I always love hearing that our green efforts are appreciated so much. We hope to see you on your next visit to Columbia.

Thanks again,

Marcus Munse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    49
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
40
27
5
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We were passing through and choose this because of our priority membership. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Rooms were clean, well maintained. Beds were comfortable sleeping. Restaurant staff for both dinner and breakfast were indifferent. My husband liked the variety of meat, potatoes and eggs on buffet. I wish there were fruits and yogurt. Juice was extra!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Craig47933,

Thank you for posting a review. I am happy to here that you enjoyed the hotel and you can be sure that I will pass your concerns to our team. Please understand that our buffet differs from that of a limited service property. I am sorry about the service, and we will be sure to create a better experience for you on your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel is new which is good. Beds are comfortable. Location is decent. Lobby is nice. But, bathroom in room with 2 queens is small. Bathtub/shower is an inexpensive fiberglass liner as opposed to tile. TV is small and not high def.

Doesn't appear that the cleaning staff vacuums regularly. When I arrived there was a room service tray outside my room. A corresponding macaroni noodle sat on my floor for 2 days.

Restaurant has terrible service. I stopped by one night for one drink and took forever to place order, get drink and get check. I was wise to not try to eat there.

Would I stay again? Maybe. There are other IHG options nearby that I might try first,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I wanted to apologize for your experience at the Holiday Inn. There is certainly no excuse for having a room service tray outside of your room when you checked in; however, I can assure you that every room is vacuumed daily. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our shower/tubs, but I did want to let you know that only the tubs are fiberglass and the surrounds are tile. I will certainly pass along your comments to the restaurant as we will use this to better our performance.

Thank you for the review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We rented several rooms for a social event. Everyone in our group was pleased. The rooms were clean and quiet. I rented the suite which gave a separate seating area, small refrigerator and microwave. The staff was friendly and courteous. I agree with other comments regarding the restaurant, but the menu was not my type of food so we ate elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvinmc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting this review. We always like to hear that our guests are please with their accommodations. I'm sorry to hear about your thoughts on the restaurant, but you will be pleased to know that we are making great strides at the Sporting News Grill.

We look forward to seeing you next time,

Marcus Munse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed there by force over the St. Patty's Day weekend for a soccer tournament (local soccer club was bedding with this hotel).
The hotel had a nice lobby area, check-in was good, etc.
Stayed in a king bed suite where the bed was in a room to itself, apart from the kitchenette and front room with sofa bed.
Having sliding glass windows were nice but wish they would open more than 3-4 inches (security or insurance reason?) for more air flow.
The reason for the mid rating was the restaurant...
In the mornings, we tried to eat there at the buffet which was a grease buffet (runny scrambled eggs, greasy bacon, dry sausage, grits, corned beef hash, burned home fries) and fruit with water and tea for drinks...no orange juice or milk.
One of servers glared at everyone that walked in too...medium build with a lot of hair extensions. She just looked at everyone as they walked past as if daring them to sit down and didn't say one thing to anyone but was always chatting with her co-workers in a low tone so no one could over hear her.
Anyways, not exactly a good meal for kids to eat before going to play soccer games that day.
An overhaul of the staff would do that place wonders.

Room Tip: Be ready to drive somewhere to eat but the beers at SN are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadbuttrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review, we enjoyed hosting the St. Patrick's Day soccer tournament here at the Holiday Inn & Suites. It sounds like the room was comfortable for you except for the restrictions of the windows. You are correct about why the window only opens 4"; this is a safety/code issue, similar to the spacing of pickets on elevated railings. We are happy to offer the option of operable windows to our guests which is uncommon in most hotels. We realize the desire for some of our guests to want more outside air in the space to have a more natural indoor atmosphere. This is part of our "green" initiative.

I am sorry to hear about your restaurant experience. You will be happy to know that we have began a new training regiment and our new front-of-the-house manager began this week. I will address how the food is prepared with our chef to be sure that is is not so greasy; however, we are required to have certain items on the buffet as a Holiday Inn Brand Standard. I do understand the need for a healthier breakfast before going to play soccer. This is certainly something to investigate when we have sports teams in house. We will continue to use reviews like this as a reminder of our commitment to better ourselves and constantly work on our guest's experience.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l1i2s3a
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed there 2 nights in February. Everything was as you would expect in the Holiday Inn and Suites name. Clean, comfortable, fresh. Front desk attendants were cordial and very responsive. But, the Sporting News Grill didn't match up to the hotel. Each morning we tried to have breakfast there, but waited at least 20 minutes before we were even served. On the second morning it became comical as people walked in, weren't greeted after 10 minutes and just left. The staff didn't even know they had been there. It was seat yourself and we struggled to find a table that had been wiped clean, even though there were only a few people actually eating the the restaurant. On the second morning we ordered omelets, they turned out to be egg wraps.... a thin egg wrapped around very raw ingredients even raw onions. We tried ordering iced tea and they had to make it, but it was awful. We tried ordering decaf coffee and were told they don't usually make it because not many people request it. When they did make it, it didn't get to our table until after we finished our breakfast.

If you go to this hotel, your stay will be pleasant. Just don't plan on eating in the hotel. There is no complimentary breakfast buffet, so plan on eating out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l1i2s3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am very disappointed and even embarrassed at your restaurant experience. I very much appreciate the pleasantries about the hotel as we always strive to uphold the Holiday Inn standard of excellence. The restaurant, however, is a department of the hotel and as such impacts the overall experience of our guest's stay. You can be sure that I will share these comments with my team members as we use these critiques as a tool for bettering ourselves and our hospitality.

I did read your comment on our hotel not having a complimentary breakfast. Please keep in mind that we are a full service hotel (not a Holiday Inn Express) that offers a full restaurant/bar plus room service. All of our items are made to order with fresh ingredients.

Thank you again for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

First time staying here. I travel quite a bit, domestically and internationally. This is one of the best Holiday Inns I've stayed at. The facility is very nice, the service is very good. The lounge & restaurant are above average for hotels in this category. All in all, very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclecurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Unclecurt,

Thank you for the excellent review. Our team really enjoys receiving this positive feedback, proving that our hard work does not go unnoticed. I am also happy to see that you were very impressed with every aspect of your stay except for the location. Unfortunately that is something we cannot control; however, I hope that the other areas of your stay made up for it.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the future,

Marcus Munse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Columbia
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport
Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport
#7 of 11 in West Columbia
93 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#22 of 94 in Columbia
610 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn at Bush River Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport
Address: 110 McSwain Dr, West Columbia, SC 29169-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > West Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia-Airport, one of our top priorities is ensuring a cleaner, healthier environment for our guests, employees and future generations by implementing environmentally responsible practices in every aspect of our hotel, from the original design to the day-to-day operations.Opened on Earth Day, April 22, 2010, our property is South Carolina's 1st full-service eco-friendly hotel. The property achieved Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification in 2012 and was titled Best Of South Carolina. Our green hotel located in Columbia, SC is not only safer and more healthy for guests and employees, but also for our community. The 122 room hotel has incorporated features that include a state-of-the-art ventilation system to improve air quality, energy recovery technology to temper outside air, rain water harvesting, tank-less hot water heaters, use of low emitting volatile organic compound (VOC) paint, adhesives., carpet, high efficiency fixtures and traction elevators designed for high energy efficiency. Owned by Capital Hospitality, LLC. and operated by Courtesy Management Inc. of Orangeburg, Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia-Airport looks to meet the increasing demands of guests who appreciate an environmentally focused design as well as high level of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport Hotel West Columbia
Holiday Inn And Suites Columbia - Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing