We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 23, 2014

First time staying here. I travel quite a bit, domestically and internationally. This is one of the best Holiday Inns I've stayed at. The facility is very nice, the service is very good. The lounge & restaurant are above average for hotels in this category. All in all, very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclecurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Unclecurt,

Thank you for the excellent review. Our team really enjoys receiving this positive feedback, proving that our hard work does not go unnoticed. I am also happy to see that you were very impressed with every aspect of your stay except for the location. Unfortunately that is something we cannot control; however, I hope that the other areas of your stay made up for it.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the future,

Marcus Munse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 171 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great, safe, family friendly. Clean lobby and very responsive front desk service by the guys on duty. Perfect distance from airport and downtown. The sporting news grill food was excellent; I had the Club sandwich and it filled me up for dinner. Many beers on draft and sports on many TV's. No complaints at all, this is the way hotels are supposed to be run. Southern hospitality at it's finest. Was offered a breakfast package for my wife and I. They really told us everything we needed quickly and without holding us up from a long trip (Ohio to Florida). Soft and firm pillows worked great for me and my wife, clean sheets and quiet elevators. Everyone we passed smiles and asked us how our stay was and if anything could be done to make it better. We will stay here again and recommend to others. Thanks again!

Room Tip: The pool was outdoor due to out of season, but we took advantage of the pool lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryGSteinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

We love hearing reviews like this!! Thank you so much for taking the time to share the details of your great stay. Smiles, pleasantries, and the genuine extra effort of our team say so much more than the brick, mortar, and steel of our building. This truly is an prime example of how our brand creates Great Hotels that Guests Love. This is why we are in the hospitality industry so you can be sure that I will be sharing this will all of my team members.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you next time you travel to/from Ohio and Florida.

Safe Travels,

Marcus Munse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn from Oct.4th to Oct.6th, In town for the South Carolina football game.The hotel is very clean and close to the stadium and campus. The staff is excellent and the Sporting News Grill had good food and great service. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in town for a Gamecock football game or just visiting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia,

Regards,

Marcus Munse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great staff and nice property, about 3 years old. Rooms face onto freeway ramp with trucks gearing up all night, overlooking an extended stay hotel that is being remodeled and makes coming in from the parking lot an adventure.

Room Tip: Get a room on the opposite side of the hotel from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your response. You are correct about the property next door to us, they are remodeling that hotel with hopes of a more pleasant view for our guests. I apologize that the interstate noise was such and issue for you. We take pride in our advanced building envelope that helps to maintain a comfortable interior atmosphere for our guests. Next time you visit us please let me know and I will be sure to place you in a room that is away from the interstate and facing the front of our property.

Thank you for the comments,

Marcus Miunse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were traveling through Columbia on business and stayed here for two nights. The hotel is clean and appears to be safe. Don't let that fool you, its located next door to a meth/crack house even (according to the police)! Our U haul truck was hot wired and stolen out of the parking lot in the middle of the night. I called 4-5 times to speak with a manager about getting a refund after we got home. Finally, two weeks later he called back and told me they aren't responsible for what happens in the parking lot. Maybe they should not have built this hotel so close to a crack-house. If you do stay here avoid the food at the restaurant, its horrible and park as close to the entrance as possible!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Munse, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

I completely understand that you are upset about your vehicle being stolen out of the parking lot, as am I. I want nothing more than for our guests to feel safe. The property next door, which has no affiliation with the Holiday Inn, has not created any safety issues in the past. This evidence can be seen by reading our other reviews. We work closely with the Police Department who patrols our property often for an increased feeling of safety and security for our already safe hotel. In addition to this I worked with the investigator that was taking care of your case and assisted him in any way that I could. I was also informed by the police that your vehicle was recovered the following day with none of your personal belongings missing. I know that you feel we should compensate you for your vehicle being stolen; however, we are unable to be held responsible for our guest's vehicles or their vehicles belongings. This is common practice for all hotels with free parking for guests, as we have stated clearly on signage in the parking lot. Unfortunately, your memory of your stay here hinges on a crime that we did not commit.

I am sorry that you had to go through this incident during your stay here. If you decide to come back to our hotel please feel free to contact me in advance to ensure your stay is pleasant.

Thank you for your feedback,

Marcus Munse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall was not bad, but nothing overly exciting. It's a clean enough spot to stop when traveling if you're tired, which was our main reason. We stopped in off the highway, which was very convenient and got a room. My husband and I chose to go with the double queen for the rate they were asking. However soon found we should have opted for the king. The queen has no fridge or microwave.

The room was just ok other than that.

My biggest complaint was no free breakfast. Reward member or not. There's a sports bar grill restaurant attached to the hotel, so I guess that's their reasoning for that.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alstwn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear alstwn2,

We appreciate you sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance
to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and could not have had a better experience. Jonathan provided my family with a quick and easy check-in. He was efficient and very hospitable throughout the entire stay. Our rooms were spacious and spotless. You could tell once you entered the room that both housekeeping and maintenance take pride it their jobs. The rooms were in pristine condition and looked very new. We ate down at the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and were impressed with the food as well as the service. The location of the hotel was a perfect distance from the airport and downtown attractions.

My only critique is that you invest in jumper cables for your property. Our car battery died and we finally found an individual in the restaurant who had a pair of cables. Other than that it was a wonderful stay!!! Thank you Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Columbia
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Lexington
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Columbia West/Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport

Address: 110 McSwain Dr, West Columbia, SC 29169-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > West Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Price Range: $110 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia-Airport, one of our top priorities is ensuring a cleaner, healthier environment for our guests, employees and future generations by implementing environmentally responsible practices in every aspect of our hotel, from the original design to the day-to-day operations.Opened on Earth Day, April 22, 2010, our property is South Carolina's 1st full-service eco-friendly hotel. The property achieved Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification in 2012 and was titled Best Of South Carolina. Our green hotel located in Columbia, SC is not only safer and more healthy for guests and employees, but also for our community. The 122 room hotel has incorporated features that include a state-of-the-art ventilation system to improve air quality, energy recovery technology to temper outside air, rain water harvesting, tank-less hot water heaters, use of low emitting volatile organic compound (VOC) paint, adhesives., carpet, high efficiency fixtures and traction elevators designed for high energy efficiency. Owned by Capital Hospitality, LLC. and operated by Courtesy Management Inc. of Orangeburg, Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia-Airport looks to meet the increasing demands of guests who appreciate an environmentally focused design as well as high level of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Columbia - Airport Hotel West Columbia
Holiday Inn And Suites Columbia - Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing