We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run from this place”
Review of Sleep Inn Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn Airport
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
1 review
“Run from this place”
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

The room decor is old Walls are dirty. Floors dirty. Carpet rippled and was once green....maybe. But is now black. Shower floor is GREY!!! Do not stay here. Only good thing, the front desk lady was super nice

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copper1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    15
    6
    14
See reviews for
20
20
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I was a little disappointed with my recent stay at this Sleep Inn. I was not up to the standard I am used to when staying at a Sleep Inn. The hotel was very 'tired' looking and just looked grubby. There was a buildup of crud on top of the tile baseboard in the bathroom. Having been negative so far I must say I had a fairly good stay overall. The reception area was inviting and the receptionist was friendly. The bed was very comfortable even if the blanket was threadbare. The ac/heat worked well and was quiet. There was a good breakfast.

Room Tip: No advice about room selection but do not rely on GPS to find this hotel. The website instructions a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiner58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Just recenetly spent two nights at the Sleep Inn Airport. The faciities are very good, but do need updating. The carpet is very dirty, with large sports in several places. The beds were wodnerful but the linens are tread bare. I think you could probably see thru the sheets, but they did have fitted sheets, whcih many hotels seem to lack these days. The coverlet-spread on the bed had to have been many years old. It also had holes in it and was very thread bare. The rooms were clean and, except for the carpet, and had both a frig and a microwave, which were helpful. Since we were not in the rooms very long, as we were there with a girls softball team, and they were playing durng the day and part of the night, it was doable, The front desk was very nice and check-in went very smoothly. It's not somewhere I would want to stay for a leisurely visit, as the neighborhood is questionable. If they will put some money into new carpet and linens, it would be a nice hotel, We did not use the complimentary breakfast, so can't comment on that. They only have ice machines on the 1st, 3rd, and 5th floors. It is right off I-26, but you could not hear the highway noise.

Room Tip: If you are interested in having an ice machine on your floor, ask for the 1st, 3rd or 5th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

After several visits in the West Columbia Airport area, my wife and i finally decided to try the Sleep Inn Airport. And we were not disappoinited. The motel is located within a very quick drive to the airport.
From the moment we arrived everyone was freiendly, helpful and efficient.
The room, where we spent two nights, was large, very clean, comfortable, and quiet. Although located right along I-26 and in the flight path to the Columbia Airport, the room was never noisy.
If you want a bathtub, you will have to ask if they are available. Our room had a self-contained shower, with a door and not a curtain. This is something my wife and I both appreciated.
The bed, a king size, was extremely comfortable, with the right amount of cover. The room air conditioner was very quiet and worked quite well.
The free continental breakfast was the standard fare. Plenty of cereal, waffle maker, sweet Danish. Boiled eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, toaster, milk and juice. The room was tended throughout the breakfast time and was extremely clean and well-stocked.
Would we stay there again? Absolutely!
An earlier reviewer said that there were no major restaurants nearby. That is correct. However there are severl smaller restaurants, including Lizard's Thicket, which features great home style meals at really good prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SquareCaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomeroy, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I read several bad reviews on this hotel and contemplated changing my reservation but just didn't have the time to do so. Now I'm glad I didn't. The hotel was what we needed for our short trip to the Columbia area and that was comfortable, quiet, safe and economical. Although the bedding wasn't up to date, the mattress was, it looked newer and was very comfortable. I liked the fact that when we turned in for the night we didn't hear doors slamming or loud people in the hall. All in all we had a good experience and will stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: If possible, book a whirlpool suite. The whirlpool is actually a jetted extra large tub in the spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresam27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Dyne, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I was held over an extra day and wanted to change my date to stay at the hotel by 24 hours. They were very rude and and would not even consider letting me do this. They just charged me for the room that I could not use.

Room Tip: Don't use tripadvisor to book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Columbia hotels

Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

A good place to stay while attending events in Columbia be it sporting events at the University of South Carolina if you need to stay overnight or if attending events at the Colonial Center. It is convienient to the airport but there are no major restaurants nearby.
This is a place to overnite if traveling as it is next to Interstate 26.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLAIDDDRWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Columbia
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia Airport
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Columbia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
2.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport
Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport
#7 of 11 in West Columbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 West Columbia Airport
Super 8 West Columbia Airport
#8 of 11 in West Columbia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Airport

Property: Sleep Inn Airport
Address: 2208-A Edmund Highway, West Columbia, SC 29170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > West Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
69 room hotel- located 5 minutes from Columbia Metropolitan Airport- complimentary continental breakfast- microwave and refrigerators in all rooms-newly renovated ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Columbia
West Columbia Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing