We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Kennett Square, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

Was making the trip from PA to FL and once again all of you helped me find a winner. Had easy check-in, great rate via hotels.com. Hotel if not new is newly renovated and clean. Had 2 Q beds and room was plenty big enough. Breakfast (waffles) was good b/c of value and ease of eating and traveling. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2boysandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    415
    250
    133
    76
See reviews for
554
382
111
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

Walterboro is a good stopping point on a trip from Pennsylvania to Tampa...especially when North Carolina was full of traffic and 95 wasn't moving in South Carolina.

Luckily I made reservations otherwise we'd be staying in a smoking room with the other three people waiting in line to try to get a room. We got the room we wanted, two queen beds. The window was also a deep window and had a cushion and a pillow. We brought our two dogs and our toddler. All of them loved all the beds.

It's right off 95 along with many other hotels. Traffic was at a standstill North of Walterboro so we got off and took route 15 South to the hotel. It's located South of Walterboro, not within city limits. It took us a couple trips through the town to realize this.

Overall, we were able to rest to resume our trip the next day.

  • Liked — Takes dogs, location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — hardness of the beds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hennhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

Having stayed in this hotel one year previously (see May 2007 review), I decided to give it a second chance. The property is very convenient along the I-95 corridor, and can usually be booked for about $8 less than the TripAdvisor average rate, via coupon or AAA discount. I booked a Queen-bed non-smoking room for one night (a Monday) in late June.

The hotel is only about 1/4 mile off the Interstate, but can be tricky to find. Make sure you have the (simple) directions with you as you travel. Check-in was easy, although the clerks here continue to be somewhat indifferent. I was once again assigned a room very near the central elevator, ice and soda machines: convenient for in-and-out but somewhat noisier than end-of-corridor rooms. The hotel was, once again, nearly empty, but I did not bother to ask for an upgrade, given my experience here last time.

The room was cosy, or more accurately, shockingly small. Overlooking the front parking lot, decorated in pleasant shades of red and orange (see photos), and quite clean, the room was so small I could almost touch all four walls while lying in bed. The bed, like last time, was very comfortable, decent linen and towels, good TV channels and reception. The A/C unit is quite noisy, and in a room that size, you really hear it. However it's white noise and not an issue if you're exhausted from driving anyway.

But wow-- I felt like I was in a closet. The single queen-bed room is NOT for the claustrophobic! The two-double-bed room I had last year was significantly bigger, so you may want to request one if you enjoy turning around in your room. They also have even larger "suite" type rooms with additional amenities for an extra $25 or so, if you feel the need and have the cash.

The pool was exactly as it was a year ago- unattended but fairly clean, with no towels available. The hotel lobby and breakfast area is clean but small. Breakfast offerings include make-your-own-waffles, cereal, beverages, and a few tired baked items. Enough to get you started, but not very generous.

As the lower-middle tier priced motels go, this Microtel is not bad. Most of the other lodgings in this immediate area were either scary-sounding or -looking, or much higher priced. I might just stick to a different area of S. Carolina (Florence) on my next run up I-95.

BTW, one reason I chose this place again was to hit Duke's BBQ in nearby Walterboro (about five miles away). Much to my dismay, it turns out to be closed on Mondays. A homemade cider place near the Microtel had already closed at 5pm and would not re-open until 10am, so I also missed that exciting tourist attraction.

  • Liked — Convenient to highway & BBQ joint, comfy beds
  • Disliked — Tiny room, limited amenities, indifferent staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MrNuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 16 in Walterboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#4 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Walterboro
Hampton Inn Walterboro
#7 of 16 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
#6 of 16 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
Address: 130 Cane Branch Rd, Walterboro, SC 29488-9375
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Walterboro
Microtel Inn & Suites Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Microtel Walterboro
Walterboro Microtel
Microtel Hotel Walterboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing