We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as you'll find on Rt 95”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Walterboro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As good as you'll find on Rt 95”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Convenient. Right off Rt 95 with restaurants in the area. Large rooms. Clean. Quiet. Friendly staff. Accepts coupons. Coffee at breakfast was good, although I don't recommend the eggs. Way above average for hotels on 95. What else do you want?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenn334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Kenn334,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We appreciate the kind words about our spacious rooms, clean hotel, and friendly staff members. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you enjoy our close proximity to Interstate 95 and local restaurants. We strive to offer excellent accommodations and service to each and every one of our guests, so we are delighted to hear that you feel we offer a value that is way above average along Interstate 95. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We appreciate it and hope that you will stay with us again soon at the Holiday Inn Express Walterboro hotel.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    114
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
133
118
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Ma.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly the problem I had was the strong perfumy odor throughout the hotel in particually the sheets. I am very sensitive to strong odors as they can trigger migrianes. I also noticed when the air conditioning was turned off an underlying musty odor. So I would recommend this hotel unless you're bothered by odors!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear patarc,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are so glad that you and your family were able to join us at the Holiday Inn Express Walterboro hotel. While we do not generally have similar complaints from fellow travelers, we understand that some people are very sensitive to odors - especially those who suffer from migraines. In the future, please contact our front desk team right away if the sheets have a strong odor so that we can find a new set of sheets to better suit your travel needs. It is our goal to offer comfortable accommodations to each and every one of our guests, so we will do everything we can to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We appreciate this feedback and apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced on this particular visit. Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers. Please come back and see us again soon so that we can provide the excellent accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I along with my daughter, her husband and two grandchildren spent the night at this property while returning home from a Disney cruise. It is very convenient to Interstate 95, less than a mile from exit 53. The property, right across the street from an older Hampton Inn, appears to be only two to three years old. Check-in was quick and efficient even though the desk clerk was attempting to carry on a conversation with another employee while doing so (seems a little customer service 101 would be in order). The rooms were clean, well-appointed and very quiet. Our room was HI's version of a suite at a rate of $120 which we found to be a good value. It was a large room with a microwave, small fridge, sofa, large screen LCD television and a very comfortable king bed. Even though the hotel was nearly full by evening we experienced very little noise from the hall and none from the adjacent rooms. The hotel is off Sniders Highway which is fairly busy with traffic but we did not notice any road noise. For dining there is a Cracker Barrel across the street and a Ruby Tuesday and other franchise restaurants nearby within a short driving distance from the hotel. The breakfast is the typical economy hotel fare with a good selection of breakfast items. The attendant was friendly and worked hard to quickly clean the tables so no one would have a long wait for a table. We found the breakfast area to be rather small for a hotel of this size. Since the hotel appeared to be full or nearly so we had a short but acceptable wait for a table. All things considered, we would definitele stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTraveler108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear NCTraveler108,

Thank you very much for joining us at the Holiday Inn Express Walterboro hotel during your trip home after a Disney Cruise! Sounds like an exciting vacation and we hope that you and your family had a wonderful time! We truly appreciate the five star ratings and the kind words about our convenient location, quick check-in process, clean rooms, quiet atmosphere, and great value. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you were able to join us in the morning for our complimentary breakfast buffet. Our entire team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We would also like to thank you for sharing some feedback about the customer service at check-in. It is our goal to offer excellent customer service to each and every one of our guests. We will share your feedback with our front desk team so that we can make improvements for your next stay and our future guests! Thanks again for all of your time. We appreciate it and hope that you will come back to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My family has stayed here 3 times and it is a very nice and clean hotel. Rooms are big and comfortable and breakfast is adequate. Convenient to I95 and Cracker Barrel is nearby. Only negative is that changing channels on the TV is extremely slow.

Room Tip: King rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3NC-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear 3NC-Travelers,

A special thanks to you and your family for visiting us at the Holiday Inn Express Walterboro hotel time and time again! We truly appreciate the five star ratings and the kind words about our clean hotel, comfortable rooms, and complimentary breakfast buffet. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoy our close proximity to Interstate 95 and various local restaurants such as Cracker Barrel! In the future, if you are having a problem with your TV, please give our front desk team a call so that we can send someone up to assist you. We are so grateful for all of your feedback and hope that you will join us again very soon at the Holiday Inn Express Walterboro hotel!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This motel is a great place to stay along I-95. It is set back from the interstate so there is no noise from road traffic. The hotel is very clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast area is spacious and attended by a friendly expert, and the food selection is above average. We have stayed here before, as have our neighbors. It is a place you can count on for a clean, comfortable stay. Service was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertRStaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear RobertRStaunton,

Thank you very much for the five star review about our hotel! We are so glad that you decided to stay with us for a quick rest while you were traveling along Interstate 95. We try to offer a quiet atmosphere and comfortable accommodations to each and every one of our guests, so we are delighted to hear your positive feedback! The highest compliment that you could give our team is to come back and visit us again. A special thanks to both you and your neighbors for joining us multiple times at the Holiday Inn Express Walterboro hotel! We cannot thank you enough for all of your time and feedback. Please come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the inn overall exuded a spirit of age, wear and glum.
Only real strong positive was easy-on easy-off I95. I've stayed a HIE over the past few months in Raliegh/Durham, NC, Warwick, RI, and this one just plain felt like a bad value.

Room Tip: To find a good room, get off I95 a few exits North or South of this one, and pick a different HIE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Steve C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words about our friendly, helpful staff members. However, we strive to offer exceptional accommodations to each and every one of our guests, so we are very disappointed to hear that you feel we do not live up to Holiday Inn Express standards. Our hotel opened in March of 2005 and we are constantly updating to ensure that our guests can enjoy the best features and accommodations available on the market. Most recently, we added brand new pillowtop mattress pads to our hotel beds for maximum guest comfort.
We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will allow our General Manager to contact you directly about your stay. We would like to collect additional information as it is feedback like yours that allows us to improve and better serve our future guests. Thank you in advance for all of your time!
We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to Interstate 95, and hope that you and your family enjoyed your recent travels together. Thanks again for all of your feedback. We appreciate it and hope that you will come back to visit us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Didn't know how far north I would get on I-95 with leaving Miami International Airport at 11 a.m. Shortly after crossing the SC border, I picked up one of those coupon books and saw the Walterboro HIE had a special rate coupon for Sunday-Thursday. I called from the car. As I have Platinum Elite status with their frequent guest program, I was given an upgrade (suite) and able to reserve the room while in the car. The gal handling the reservation could not have been nicer nor more efficient.
Upon arrival, everything was as promised. The suite was huge for a single person, but definitely appreciated. The bed was soft and I was able to burrow under the sheets and amongst the pillows. It was very quiet even though the hotel was 75% full. I was able to get a goon night's sleep.
Breakfast was your typical HIE hot and cold offerings. Checkout was swift and everything was correct.
I have now added this property to my 'favorites' when driving I-95.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wnbamiamisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear wnbamiamisol,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a five star review about the Holiday Inn Express Walterboro hotel. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us as you traveled along Interstate 95 from the Miami Airport. We truly appreciate the kind words about our easy reservation process, spacious suites, comfortable beds, quiet atmosphere, free breakfast buffet, and swift checkout process. In addition, we would like to thank you for your commitment to the brand as a Priority Club Member. We are absolutely delighted that you were able to enjoy one of our suites as a free upgrade! Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We cannot thank you enough for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers. We look forward to seeing you again during your next travels along Interstate 95.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 17 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 17 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#3 of 17 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western of Walterboro
Best Western of Walterboro
#6 of 17 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walterboro

Property: Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
Address: 1834 Sniders Hwy, Walterboro, SC 29488-8799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly opened Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Walterboro, SC. We are conveniently located at the junction of Interstate-95 and SC Highway 63 (Exit 53). We are only 45 minutes away from Charleston, SC, one hour from Savannah, GA and just ninety minutes from Columbia SC. Our state of the art three-story hotel, offers luxurious accommodations designed with you in mind. We feature facilities that meet the needs of the leisure, corporate or group traveler. Our hotel provides 81 well-appointed, spacious guestrooms, 16 of which are suites. We offer the complimentary new Express Start Breakfast featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls and SMART Roast Coffee. While you re here, enjoy our unique Simply SMART Bath Experience . Our guest rooms offer free high-speed Internet access, in-room voicemail, wake-up service and more! For recreational activities, we have a state of the art fitness center and a 24-hour business center. Other business services are available at the front desk. We are home to Asten Johnson, University of South Carolina Salkehatchie, South Carolina Artisans Center, Tuskegee Airmen Monument, among other companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Holiday Inn Walterboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing