We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Stopover on a Long I-95 Journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hotel Hammock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walterboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Hammock
Ranked #1 of 7 Walterboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal Stopover on a Long I-95 Journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Two weary adults and two tired children arrived here during a heavy rainstorm after a longer than expected road trip and were warmly greeted by Sandy. Our suite was spacious and immaculate. We slept soundly and were treated to a pleasant and filling breakfast before hitting the road again. Sandy made us feel as though we were visiting family. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClanIveson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
26
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights and we were so glad the people we came to visit brought us to Hotel Hammock. We had a suite which was very large, clean and the bed very comfortable, the facility itself was spotless. Sandy the owner made us fell so welcome like we had been knowing each other for a long time, but was the first time we every meet. She and her husband was very helpful in helping us make restaurant selections that were very good. We had a very nice continental breakfast each day and delicious homemade banana nut muffins. (Wish I had the recipe, they we so good.) When my travel plans bring me to Walterboro again, Hotel Hammock will definitely be at the top of my list.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faywilliams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My work brings me to Walterboro, SC on a regular basis. The Hotel Hammock has become my home away from home while in town. What a pleasure to have such a comfortable and relaxing place to stay. Each morning in the guest breakfast room I get to enjoy fresh baked goodies and a cup of coffee while sharing a friendly conversation with Sandy (the owner) and other guest. I would highly recommend staying here whenever you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tstrickland2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We found the brochure at the Welcome Center, and were looking for a place off the "strip" away from the Interstate. It's a charming Inn and town, and although we were in a hurry to get home due to storms (otherwise we would have stayed a few more days), it was just what we had hoped for -quiet, clean, convenient to the Highway, and very well-appointed. Sandra, our hostess, was a delight to talk to and helpful in every way. Fresh coffee and homemade banana muffins awaited us in the morning, and the back deck into our room made it very convenient for packing and unpacking our gear. Please consider this wonderful place if you need a stopover or a place from which to explore the area!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stumbled onto this little jewel on our way to Florida. We were tired and just looking for a place to spend the night, but were turned off by what we found off the Interstate. We decided to drive for a couple more miles and Hotel Hammock caught our eye. Instead of just a place to sleep we scored a beautiful evening--drinks our our "back porch" and a great dinner a short walk away in beautiful downtown Walterboro. The suites are more like home than a hotel, and hostess/owner Sandy, was delightful. They do not have a kitchen, but she brings in freshly-baked sweets in addition to offering an array of Continental breakfast items. We knew we would be back . . .just didn't realize it would be just 8 days later on our return trip. Same wonderful experience!

John & Jenny (AKA "April Fools"

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Twp., NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Due to a change in plans, my colleague and I found ourselves unexpectedly needing to stay overnight in Walterboro. Our last-minute search for rooms was yielding no results until a "local" suggested The Hotel Hammock. What a great suggestion! Conveniently located to downtown, we arrived shortly thereafter. Upon arrival, we were promptly greeted by Sandy, one of the owners. Her infectious friendliness and cheeriness had us all soon talking as if we were long-lost friends (which helped melt away the frustrations of the day!). Our accommodations were well-secured, very clean and quiet, and I found my bed to be extremely comfortable. The next morning, Sandy went over-and-beyond to provide us with additional assistance which pleased an exhausted overnight traveler.
Given the opportunity to stay overnight in Walterboro again, I will definitely keep The Hotel Hammock at the top of my list!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We loved out stay at Hotel Hammock. We had a very spacious, clean suite and the owners made us feel like family and went out of their way to help us with anything we needed. The price was also very reasonable. We would deflnately stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank EVQ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 16 in Walterboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#4 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Walterboro
Hampton Inn Walterboro
#7 of 16 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hammock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hammock

Property: The Hotel Hammock
Address: 214 S Jefferies Blvd, Walterboro, SC 29488-3934
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hammock is a unique, fully restored 1930's Guest House with the charm and nostalgia of the 30's and modern conveniences. Our suites are tastefully decorated and have en suite bathrooms. Stay with us and experience the comfort and Southern charm of historic Walterboro. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay! Owned and operated by Michael and Sandy Katchuk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing