We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Walterboro”
Review of The Hotel Hammock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walterboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Hammock
Ranked #1 of 6 Walterboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We loved out stay at Hotel Hammock. We had a very spacious, clean suite and the owners made us feel like family and went out of their way to help us with anything we needed. The price was also very reasonable. We would deflnately stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank EVQ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 76 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a great hotel! Actually more like a cozy cottage with everything you could possibly need from beautiful suites, private deck, warm atmosphere to gracious hosts. I plan to stay there again later this month. The hotel has been lovingly restored to reflect a charming era gone by.

D.M. Orangeburg, S.C.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were in town for a family wedding, family recommended The Hammock Hotel and we are so glad they did. We found the hotel to be all we could have asked for. We enjoyed the roomy suite. It was beautifully decorated, clean and quiet. The owners Sandy and Mike were so friendly. We arrived as strangers and when we checked out we felt we had made new friends. As we have family in Walterboro we will make reservations to return. Thanks again Sandy for the hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, was able to see all as other family members were in other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

spacious,clean, comfortable with very gracious hosts wanting to please...and they more than did...would definitely return...this is suc h a better experience for everybody compared to a chain and breakfast not too much and not too little..also very much enjoyed s.c. artisans gallery very close by.

Room Tip: they all looked fine to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pineycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Walterboro on our way to NC from Florida, we discovered there was another option there, The Hotel Hammock. We went to check it out before we headed to NC because we needed to stay in Walterboro on our way back in a few weeks. What a darling place! Sandy, the owner, was a dear of a woman. We quickly booked a room and are so glad we did. She was gushing with sweetness and hospitality. The room was spacious, huge bathroom, quaint decor and comfy beds. She treated us like family. We will definitely return on our next trip to NC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My Mother Catherine and I stayed here on our way from West Palm Beach, FL to Charlotte, NC. We were so tired and the manager Sandy was so sweet to stay up late waiting for us to arrive, and was up bright and early to greet my Mom (I didn't make it...!) with breakfast with her Husband, Mike, who even carried our bags into our rooms for us! Hospitatlity was fenominal, however, traffic was noisy by the rear room right side, but I think Mike was promptly on top of fixing that problem after he asked how we slept...which I had never been asked before! Beds were great and comfy, room was spotless! I hope to return to this little treasure with such wonderful people...


Claudia

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank claudia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our last stop on a week long 'retro' family vacation trip. The charm of the accommodations was only outdone by the hospitality of the proprietors. Their excitement for the town was evident and recommendations for dinner & lunch the next day were spot-on. We were lucky to find out blueberries were in season - breakfast was a real treat!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 18 in Walterboro
591 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#4 of 18 in Walterboro
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 18 in Walterboro
316 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 18 in Walterboro
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hammock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hammock

Address: 214 S Jefferies Blvd, Walterboro, SC 29488-3934
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Walterboro
Price Range: $85 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hammock is a unique, fully restored 1930's Guest House with the charm and nostalgia of the 30's and modern conveniences. Our suites are tastefully decorated and have en suite bathrooms. Stay with us and experience the comfort and Southern charm of historic Walterboro. A complimentary continental breakfast is included with your stay! Owned and operated by Michael and Sandy Katchuk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing