We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this was one of the worst restarurants ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtney Bay Seafood - CLOSED

Courtney Bay Seafood
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating
Description: New restaurant open about 3 weeks. Excellent food, service and price. Restaurant was previously in another city but moved to Walterboro with same owner/manager.
Walterboro, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“this was one of the worst restarurants ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

my husband and i are new to the area and was told this place was good we played a round of golf and went back for dinner it was a nitemare food over cooked and when we coplained the owner said she eats salmon all time its fine i did not eat it and they did not take it off the bill or offer anything else owner was rude staff was sweet but no knowledge of what they serve to me it's a shame zero quality fast food i agree with kate c fried or floating wold never recomend to anyone

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rose marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sarasota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hmmm, Do not concur”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Maybe because its Lunch instead of dinner. Not very impressed. Everything fried or floating. Not worth the detour

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Why go to Charleston?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our family loves seafood so living near Charleston SC keeps us supplied with fresh and delicious seafood. The GREAT news is that we have discovered a fantastic seafood restaurant in our own back yard. Courtney Bay Seafood at 1 Dogwood Lane Walterboro SC is the place to eat! Everything that we have eaten has been superb.However, the Alaskan king crab legs CANNOT be beaten! The prices are very reasonable and the atmosphere is friendly and fun. A wonderful restaurant for families. If you are looking for great seafood restaurant that is not your typical tourist trap then stop by Courtney Bay. Easy on and off for I95 exit 53. You will not be sorry. YUMMY!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadys, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went to Courtney Bay after seeing the ad in the local newspaper and then checking out the comments on line. What a hidden gem!! The service was superb and all the staff were friendly and accommodating. Even the proprietor Carlene (sp?) came over to speak with us. We had the seafood platter for two and were pleased to discover that ALL the items (scallops, shrimp, oysters, devilled crab and fish) were cooked correctly and very tasty as were the hush puppies slaw, grits and fries. That is a rarity in our experience. Looking forward to a return trip with friends. Sure wish we had such quality available to us up in Southern Ontario!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Groveite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Crab legs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice staff and the "regular" seafood items are good. But the crab legs are HUGE. Always take home a carton of "legs" I couldn't eat!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanasue47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courtney Bay Seafood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing