We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay, Friendly Staff, Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Walterboro
Space Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay, Friendly Staff, Average Hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

As most of the posts stated, the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating while the hotel was "showing its age". It was clean and rooms were nice, but small things like shower water pressure being inconsistent and AC unit being loud throughout the night, were annoying, along with wifi going in and out. Breakfast was okay but again, had better at other Comfort Inns. Price was good via AAA/AARP and again, not a bad stay by any means and staff is very professional and friendly. May not go out of my way to stay again, but for a one night stay while traveling, it serves it purpose. Would have no problem staying if necessary but again, nothing "wowed" us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments to fellow travelers. We truly appreciate the kind words you shared about our accommodations and our staff. I have shared your comments with our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    126
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
119
99
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Rooms are reasonably priced and they are truly very large. Great for a family. Excellent location with ample parking. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing super fancy, but clean and well managed. Breakfast was simple but hot and the waffles are a nice plus (even Blueberry)!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Walterboro, South Carolina. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfast and professional staff to fellow travelers. Thank you again for your business and hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,

Comfort Inn & Suites Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Guys, this is a 2.5 star hotel, not a 4 star hotel. So don't expect a 4 star hotel when you go in. But here's the thing: convenient to I-95. There are places to eat (both breakfast and dinner) within a mile of the hotel. It is clean. It is comfortable. The staff is very friendly. It's a great value if you are looking for a place to stay overnight during your travels on I-95.

I would stay there again.

Word of advice: we arrived around 9 pm and the place had sold out. I saw them turn away two people as I checked in. Reservations would be a good idea.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Analog T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Walterboro, South Carolina. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for recommending our clean and comfortable rooms to fellow travelers. We appreciate your business and hope to see you the next time your travel plans bring you to our area.

Sincerely,

Comfort Inn & Suites Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The rooms are huge. The breakfast is similar to other free breakfasts, but you can make fresh waffles and the attendant is readily available should you need something. I like the fact that this is one of two hotels at this exit that have interior corridoors. I feel safer when traveling alone with my son. The other interior hotel is more than 30 dollars more a night. This hotel is very clean. My son even went for a swim this time and the pool is outdoors and was immaculate. Very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a discount coupon in the SC hotels coupon book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAMIE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Walterboro, South Carolina. We very much appreciate your business and the kind words you shared about our convenient location, clean hotel and large comfortable guest rooms. In addition, we are glad to hear that you were able to join us in the morning for our complimentary breakfast buffet. Thank you for recommending our great value to fellow travelers. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coinjock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

After a long day in Hilton Head area, I was planning to stay at Santee for the night as I usually do when I back to DC. However, I saw the sign off I 95 at Walterboro sc (Exit 53) for the Comfort Suites and decided to try this hotel out. It was very nice..it is a Comfort Inn transformed to a comfort suites. The rooms were very clean, bathrooms were in good shape and the bed was soft which led to an excellent sleep. I highly recommend this Comfort Suites for I 95 travelers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much for visiting us at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Walterboro, South Carolina. We appreciate your business and the kind words about our convenient location, clean hotel and comfortable guest rooms. Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Passing through to Florida, stopped for the night. Definitely an older hotel; but, well maintained, clean, with a nice little breakfast in the morning. We thought it was comfortable, quiet, and the beds and pillows were comfy. No problems staying here when passing through again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Teri C,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your business and are delighted to know that this is your second stay this year with us. I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words about our accommodations and breakfast. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Comfort Inn & Suites Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My partner and I have stopped here numerous times as it is the halfway point on our journey from Southwest FL to Southwest VA.

First of all, let me say that we are not talking about a luxury hotel here; rather, it is a clean, comfortable and quiet hotel that will provide travelers with a wonderful night's sleep before continuing on the road in the morning. What sets it apart from its competitors at this easy-to-get-to location off I-95 N in Walterboro, SC is that it is 100% smoke and pet free, includes a refrigerator and microwave in each room, and features a better than most free breakfast in the lobby. The staff is accommodating and pleasant too and they accept "green box" coupons (available in most rest stop areas along the way) for a discount on the cost of the room.

The best thing I can say to finish is that we plan to stay here again in the very near future.

Room Tip: Don't think you can pick a bad room here. Just follow the rules for all hotels and stay away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilsFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback to fellow travelers! I have shared your comments with our team members as they join me in thanking you for your kind words about our cleanliness and comfort, and the value paid. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Management Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 17 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#3 of 17 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 17 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western of Walterboro
Best Western of Walterboro
#6 of 17 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 97 Downs Ln, Walterboro, SC 29488-8419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites, a Walterboro hotel near the University of South Carolina SalkehatchieThe Comfort Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95, less than five miles from the University of South Carolina Salkehatchie and the Colleton Museum of history. This Walterboro, SC hotel is minutes from area attractions like the Edisto Beach, Colleton State Park and the South Carolina Artisans Center, the state's official folk art and craft center.The Colleton County Memorial Library and Bonnie Doone Plantation are minutes away. This South Carolina hotel is one hour from several beaches and the historic cities of Charleston, Beaufort and Savannah. A number of restaurants are located in the surrounding area.Hotel amenities and features include:Free high-speed Internet access in all roomsFree newspaperFree local callsFree coffeeYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!Guests of this Walterboro, SC hotel will also enjoy the fitness center and seasonal outdoor pool.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like a business center, and access to copy and fax services.All non-smoking spacious guest rooms at this South Carolina hotel come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, irons, ironing boards, coffee makers and hair dryers. For the ultimate in relaxation, the hotel offers a whirlpool room with a king bed.From the moment you walk through the doors at the Comfort Inn & Suites hotel, you'll experience southern hospitality at its best. Whether you're spending the night or a few days in the Walterboro area, our guest service representative are available to assist you in any way they can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Walterboro
Comfort Inn Walterboro
Walterboro Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing