We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food”

Carmine's Trattoria
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Walterboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Half Moon , N.Y.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We always stop at Carmine's when we travel north or south on I95. Being Italian, we know good Italian food. The food is great, staff is super and we love the cozy atmosphere. We shall return as often as we can.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 698GSIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    54
    16
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walterboro, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We weren't expecting a whole lot when we first arrived as the decor did leave a bit to be desired, but the food blew us away it was so good! I had the lobster ravioli special and my husband had the chicken alfredo and both were perfection. Large portion sizes, even bread and salad tasted great. We plan on coming back on either a Friday or Saturday when they offer live piano music.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowcountryfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We ate here for my birthday dinner and they were more than accommodating! We enjoyed the delicious food, the friendly staff and the pleasant atmosphere! Nice place for a first date if you need a place where the food is good and you can talk without shouting. The bread with dipping oil was so good my son asked for three loaves of it. The sweet tea is to die for! We highly recommend stopping here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An odor”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

High prices, and bad sauce. There s a musty odor and not great decor, very dark and old. And don't get me started in the wait staff....rude doesn't over it. The bread at the beginning of the meal was the only redeeming factor.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great authentic Italian food hiding in a small town”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The food here is always fantastic, fresh, and flavorful. Eat here if you want to find out what real Italian food tastes like. The inside has a pretty nice ambiance, and is a nice change of pace from the rest of Walterboro. I had the egg plant parmesan this time, which was very tasty and fulfilling. I've also had the carbonara and penne ala vodka here, and both of those were great. Hearty, flavorful, meals with good portion sizes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmine's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Carmine's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing