We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pit stop turned into great lunch experience”

Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Exit 53 off hwy I-95 SC
Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pit stop turned into great lunch experience”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We pulled off I-95 for a pit stop. The woman at the little travel information building (on the right just as you get off the ramp) suggested we try the place "across the street" for lunch. So glad we did. Great, fresh Mexican food and friendly service. The pace was filling up quickly with people who appeared to be regulars: a couple of Latino families couples, and lots of local law enforcement officers (who usually know where to eat). A great find, and we'll try to remember it for our next trip. It's right off the highway.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Understaffed and chaotic”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We waited an hour and a half and no food except a a bare bones plate of "Nachos Supremos" . All around us were tables of frustrated patrons waiting for food or waiting to order or waiting for their checks. The (3) waitresses were working like heck to placate their customers but the bottom line is- no food was coming out of the kitchen. Can't review food we never got. After a frustrating ninety minutes, and after watching four tables of guests leave unfed, we too joined the mass exodus. We went because of all the great food reviews and left because the restaurant is poorly run and woefully understaffed. Too bad because it looked like it had potential.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sujuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walterboro SC gem”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have been visiting Walterboro for years and always drove past this restaurant. We decided based on reviews to give it a try and wasn't disappointed. This is authentic, tasty Mexican food. The portions were great and the food was fresh, well seasoned and an delicious. The only thing I was sorry about was that we hadn't come here sooner. Trust me, try this restaurant, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rausda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“somewhat disappointed”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

On our last trip through Walterboro we were surprised and disappointed to learn the Glass House had closed. We chose this instead based upon rather glowing reviews on s site but were not satisfied. Maybe the menu was true Mexican instead of Tex-Mex (which we are accustomed to and much prefer) but we were not happy with the food. Service was ok, the place was very clean and pleasant and the price was right but we don't plan to return..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clsgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful Surprise!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Excellent food. Generous portions. The two of us had dinner with sangria for under $26. Definitely worth going to. A nice change from the usual "by the freeway" restaurants. Try the sangria - delish!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing