We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Mexican Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Exit 53 off hwy I-95 SC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

When we decided to stop in Walterboro on our way back from Florida, we checked Trip Advisor for the restaurant reviews since our go-to fast food- Chick Fil A- was not available. Los Abuelitos was a standout in the reviews and, after eating there, I know why. We arrived at 9:10 pm and they were to close at 9:30. Never once did we feel rushed and the service and the food were divine. The margarita was not bad either :-) After eating the free chips and salsa, we were ready to order. The entrees ranged from $5 to $10 dollars with the upper prices being reserved for dishes including seafood. My son ordered the shrimp and scallops and rice with guac and raved about it. I had the nachos supreme and they did a great job of giving it enough cheese sauce to make it tasty without making it soggy. My husband had the California burrito and really enjoyed it. We left after 10 and vowed to return again next year.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TNICBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Price can't be beat!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

You will not believe the value you get for your money at this Mexican Restaurant mid-way between NYC and Ft. Lauderdale. 4.50 for a frozen dacquiri and 3 bucks for a beer, not to mention meals in the ten dollar range that would cost double or triple that in any major city. Good tasting, plentiful and decent service round off the good points of this place. Wish that I didn't only get here twice a year when driving down to Florida..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bgcglaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

It was an older establishment. But do not be fooled, the quality of the food was great. We had the fajitas, and we absolutely delicious with generous portions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tired of the same old stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went to Los Abuelitos the first time a couple weeks ago because we're sick to death of BBQ and buffets. So found this place on tripadvisor and decided to give it a try. We loved it so much that we went back again yesterday. It was so nice to get real Mexican food. The salsa is fresh and the chips crispy and good. Great enchiladas and refried beans. The service is prompt and courteous, the restaurant comfortable and very clean. Love the tacos the best. Hey, there's actually real meat in there and seasoned perfectly. Liked them so much I had them again the second time. I'll try something else next time if I can tear myself away from the tacos.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SCAnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
“Who would of thought ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

My family and I were on our way back from Florida and wanted to stop for the night. We happened to pick Walterboro SC to stay as it was about the half way mark. When looking for somewhere to eat in town we researched and looked at reviews on Tripadvisor, almost all were good reviews so we gave it a shot. I am glad I did look at tripadvisor because I would of never stopped there by just driving by, it's a hole in the wall. Looks like it may have been an old Fast food restaurant. The food was awesome! Chips and great salsa all you can eat. The chimichangas were very good, the steak fajitas were great, and the rice and beans were great. Very authentic. The service was excellent and willing to please. Prices were reasonable, not bad for the big portions you get. So if you like Mexican you will probably love this place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Merritt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing