We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bed!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Walterboro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great bed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. We don't usually stay in economy motels because of the beds. We read on trip advisor that this econolodge had comfortable beds and decided to give it a try. Great beds, clean rooms, pet friendly, and nice staff, all for $60! Room even included breakfast for two at Waffle House :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    193
    47
    15
    10
See reviews for
184
174
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

No problem at all with the room - updated, clean and comfortable. Just think twice if you are towing a trailer because unlike most motels, you can't drive around this one and once in the parking lot, you're at a dead end. I admit that I'm better towing a trailer forward rather than backing it up - the motel is located on a busy 4 lane road that I didn't want to back into. Lucky for me there were only a few cars in the parking lot and I was able to make a U turn.
Restaurants within walking distance are Ruby Tuesday and an OK Mexican place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recently stayed at this motel and left my laptop computer with my Ipad inside the case as well. Upon realizing it while driving about two hours north, I panicked and then called the motel and sure enough, the girl at the desk (Briana), said she found it in the room and had it at the desk in the office and would send it to me upon the arrival of her manager, Deni. Within the hour, Deni called me and asked for my desired method of shipment. I was totally blown away by the honesty and integrity shown by the staff. I am still so impressed by the care and attention given me at that time and cannot thank them enough. I will be sure to go out of my way to stop at Econo Lodge Walterboro on my next driving south.
Gramanna

Room Tip: You can be assured of your room being clean and the staff outstanding and a real value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I just recently stayed at the Econo Loge in Walterboro and found it to be a good value. I found this place while I was looking at some of the other hotels that had a discount thru the coupon book and they didn't seem good enough. I was about to go back on the interstate and continue on but told the wife I wanted to check this place out. So I went to look at a room and saw that it would do and that the beds had pillow top mattresses and that the room was recently renovated. Their are microwave and refrigerators in the rooms which comes in handy. Now the only sort of bad thing is the fact when I went to take a shower I noticed that the hot water would fluctuate between hot and cold. The shower would start to run when you turned the water on and the stopper wasn't pulled up to just have a shower going. When pulled up both the shower and the fawcett were going at the same time. I should have told the front desk so that's my fault. Now they do have a small breakfast which isn't that great but they do offer free coupons to Waffel House which is nice. The staff is very friendly and I do recommend trying this place out. GPS has this at the old address across the street and my wife and I stayed their years ago when it was on that side of the street. This newly renovated one is better. It doesn't look like much on the outside just average but check the rooms out first and decide for yourself. Now their are no alarm clocks in the rooms and some may say the mattresses are too soft but I love pillow top mattresses myself and so does my wife. I guess everyone can't be satisfied and to each his own.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room first before you check in and they will be glad to show you one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dicarlo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakdale pa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here overnight on our way south. Courteous staff, clean room. Mattress too soft for my taste.
Room had no type of alarm clock or clock radio. Price did include free breakfasts at the near by waffle house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This motel was picked after a wonderful econo lodge experiece in Beckley WV. We were traveling with our dog so really appreciated the they didnt charge extra. The room was clean, breakfast fantastic (waffle house) and just an overall great choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martysuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I chose this motel for an over night stop on the way to Florida based on previous reviews. I was not disappointed. It was just off I-95. The room was clean and very affordable ($45). The staff was friendly. While the breakfast was minmal, we could have gotten a voucher to The Waffle House for breakfast. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valerie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#3 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
#5 of 16 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Walterboro
Hampton Inn Walterboro
#7 of 16 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Walterboro

Property: Econo Lodge Walterboro
Address: 1142 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488 (Formerly Royal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Walterboro 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EconoLodge is conveniently located off I-95 at exit 53. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing