We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Old School Style Modernized as Much as Possible” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Walterboro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Walterboro
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Groveland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Old School Style Modernized as Much as Possible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We grabbed this motel on the trip home from Florida sight unseen. We had just driven through that "Black Hole" stretch in southern SC where there are no quality hotels for about 40 miles. We were glad to see the Hampton Inn sign so we stopped in. The manager was a friendly and helpful man who got us the best rate using Hilton Honors and AAA. We had a 2nd floor room and did not know there was one elevator on the end of the building, so we lugged our stuff up the exterior stairs. It is an old style motel, maybe it was a Motel 6 or Econo Lodge years ago, with all room doors outdoors in the elements. The room was a bit small by today's standards, but it was clean and had all of the Hampton amenities including very good beds. The old style bathroom was adequate, but very clean. In the AM we ventured outside to go to breakfast. The modified space was a little crowded for all of the travelers eating the plentiful fare, but it seemed to work well enough. A very friendly and hard working young woman kept the breakfast room well stocked and clean. After gathering our gear, we checked out and jumped back on the highway. What this HI may lack in modern looks and features, it makes up for with its superior staff. If you find yourself in the area heading north or south, it will make a fine place to stop at a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: The first floor might have easier access forsome, but if you are on the 2nd floor, there is an exter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
DT705,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We appreciate you recommending our comfortable beds, complimentary breakfast buffet and excellent customer service to fellow travelers. When you call to make your next reservation, please let our front desk team know that you would prefer a room on the first floor so that you can park right next to your guest room. We will do our absolute best to accommodate your travel requests! Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    155
    110
    75
    36
See reviews for
179
216
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were booked into the Hampton at Yamessee, SC, but were forced to changed to this hotel because the Yamessee was sold. Tony at the front desk at check in was great thanks to Tony we will definitely stay at this hotel again. Breakfast was nothing to brag about, but the Southern Hospitality made is a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hi Ken B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our Walterboro hotel. We are so glad that you joined us at the Hampton Inn and really look forward to sharing your feedback with Tony and the rest of our team! We would also like to thank you for the feedback about our breakfast buffet. We strive to offer something for every appetite including eggs, meat, fruit, pastries, cereal, danishes, coffee, juice and more. If you have any suggestions on how we can improve, please feel free to send me a private message with a few details. Thanks again for all of your time. We appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Hampton Inn Walterboro took an old motel, freshened it up, added soft bedding and Presto! Now it's a hotel and they can charge the standard Hampton Inn rate. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff very nice, and the breakfast had lots of options. There is, however, no getting around the fact that when the door to your room leads to the outside and you must walk outside to get to the elevator or stairs, it is not worth the price that the Hampton Inn is charging. Additionally, the toilet paper dispenser in the bathroom was straight out of a rest stop bathroom- clunky, metal and impossible to get the paper to roll without clanging. Not good if you are traveling with an early riser or someone who visits the bathroom in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Elisa M,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn. We appreciate the kind words about our clean, comfortable guest rooms, our friendly team and our complimentary breakfast buffet. We would also like to thank you for the constructive criticism. We have shared all of your comments with our management team so that your suggestions may be taken into consideration. We appreciate all of your time and hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here many times and it only gets better. We stayed on the top floor and it appeared the rooms had been newly refreshed along with new paint inside and out. The staff at this location are just outstanding. Mr. Jim was there and his jovial self. The hostess for breakfast was right on top of everything. Breakfast was fresh and well supplied with all available items. Will see them again on next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grannypuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear grannypuc,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us time and time again at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel. We have recently renovated our walkways, doors, pool deck and hotel signage, so we are very excited to hear that you enjoy our new and improved look! Our entire team will be delighted to hear such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

My road weary family and I chose Hampton inn after reading the reviews. We weren't expecting much....boy oh boy we are glad with our choice! The front desk staff was warm and welcoming. We needed a roll away bed that beat us to our room! Thanks Hampton Inn. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljszill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Ljszill,

A special thanks to you and your family for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn Walterboro during your travels along Interstate 95. We are so glad to hear that we could provide comfortable accommodations that met and exceeded your travel expectations, we truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I think this hotel was a makeover of an old hotel and was not quite up to Hampton standards but was okay overall. Didn't like the outdoor access to room. Service was very good and the people were nice and accommodating, it just smelled a little old and could use an update of rooms. We booked from the road so were already booked before we saw it and we were only staying one night so it was okay for that purpose.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Ann S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We appreciate the kind words about our customer service. We would also like to thank you for the constructive criticism. While many of our guests enjoy the exterior entrances because they can park near their rooms, we understand that this is not a travel preference for everyone and hope that it did not cause a big inconvenience during your stay. We have shared your concerns with our General Manager for consideration, but would like to assure you that all Hampton properties are inspected on a regular basis to ensure that they meet Hampton brand standards. Our goal is to continue providing the excellent Hampton experience that frequent travelers have come to love and expect. Thanks for all of your time and feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a hotel that is a must visit simply because of the wonderful staff. I was on a long drive back to Philly when we stopped here without reservations. While nearly full , Gabbi, the night staff member, made sure to get us a room AND allowed us to park right in front of the office so that she could keep a good eye on our truck full of equipment. That was great and let us sleep without worries! Gabbi is a wonderful lady and she made our night!
The next morning, breakfast was fantastic and the thin blonde woman (I forgot her name!!!! Sorry!! ) was a lot of fun and made great breakfast!

Truly a great experience with staff. A recommendation on rooms, however - every bathroom needs a fan, period. Whomever designs bathrooms sans fans should be smacked. Please install some!

Other than that, clean, comfortable, friendly, well priced and convenient! I will be a regular !

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jburk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Jburk77,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for a quick stopover on your way back to Philadelphia! We really look forward to sharing your compliments with Gabbi and the rest of our team and we cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean, comfortable guest rooms and great value to fellow travelers. We also want to thank you for the feedback about our guest bathrooms. We have shared this concern with our management team. Thanks again for all of your time! We are so glad to hear that you have made us your home away from home in Walterboro, SC and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#3 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
#7 of 16 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Walterboro

Property: Hampton Inn Walterboro
Address: 1835 Sniders Hwy, Walterboro, SC 29488-8699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel is located off I-95 with easy access to I-26 and I-16. Near historic downtown Walterboro, history buffs will also enjoy our convenient location to both Charleston and Savannah only 1 hour away. Relax with great amenities like free Wi-Fi and free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Walterboro Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing