We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Throw back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Walterboro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Walterboro
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
180 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Throw back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

One of the few Hamptons with room entrances on the outside. Staff was friendly. The Breakfast was good and the lady in charge of stocking breakfast was outstanding. The pool was nice, should have been heated but was closing for the season. Should be indoors. Enjyed our stay but would pass next tie by - no decent eating places nearby. Cracker Barrel was terrible but that is not the Hamptons fault.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disgusted012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear disgusted012,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your travels along Interstate 95! We appreciate the kind words about our friendly team and complimentary breakfast buffet. While Cracker Barrel is a favorite for many of our travelers, we understand that there menu may not be of interest to everyone. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused and wish you the best of luck during future travels!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    144
    101
    71
    33
See reviews for
165
203
35
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My colleague and I were satisfied with our stay. We chose this hotel due to previous experiences with the brand. We did not, however; know that this particular hotel was one were the rooms opened up outside, rather then being enclosed/inside of the building. We struggled with this aspect of the property, but other than that, everything else was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shaquite P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Shaquite P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your commitment to the Hampton Inn brand and are very glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay! While many of our guests enjoy the exterior entrances because they can park just outside their room, we understand that this is not a travel preference for everyone. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused during your stay. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We hope that you will join us again in the future at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great value the guest service makes you feel like you are at home. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The breakfast was above Hampton Inn standards and every one was looking to make your stay better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Barry F,

Thank you very much for such a kind, five star review! We are so glad to hear that you feel we offer a home away from home in Walterboro, South Carolina! We cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean rooms and outstanding hot buffet breakfast to fellow travelers. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We needed a spot for overnight and this was clean, neat, well lighted, and just off the I-95 exit. Convenient, relatively free of road noise, and a quick start off in the morning. The morning crew of the checkout clerk, breakfast service staff, and local manager was a pleasant group and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Hardie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Hardie J,

Thanks for joining us at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel! We are so glad that you chose to stay with us for a quick stopover during your travels along Interstate 95! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean hotel, convenient location and quiet atmosphere during your stay. Our entire team will be delighted to hear such positive feedback. Please come back to see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I drive from Fort Myers, FL to Richmond, VA a couple of times a year and have found this to be a very nice hotel. The staff is great, the rooms extremely clean and the breakfast great. I will use them as a half way stop whenever I travel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Nancy C,

Thank you very much for making the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel a regular stop during your trips from Fort Myers to Richmond! We truly appreciate the kind words about our great team, clean rooms and great complimentary breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing you again soon during your next trip along Interstate 95!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTERO, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Don't stay at this Hampton ... it doesn't deserve the name. Upper mid-range price for an old 2 story, exterior entrance, no elevator place. People and breakfast fine if you're can't find any place else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear George R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Our goal is to provide comfortable accommodations to each and every hotel guest and we are very sorry to hear that you feel we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit. We have recently completed renovations to offer a new and improved experience for hotel guests. While many travelers enjoy the exterior entrances because they can park near their guest rooms, we understand that this is not a travel preference for everyone. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We wish you the best of luck in your future travels!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Traveling 1200 miles, one needs to keep water cold and freeze ice packs. There was no refrigerator. The room smelled a bit odd. Very outdate and the duvets were not clean even though they said they were changed daily.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Linda M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are very sorry about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. We do have a limited number of refrigerators available for hotel guests. Please tell our front desk team that you would prefer a room with a refrigerator when you call to make your hotel reservation. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us so that we can further investigate the smell of the room as well as the duvets to ensure that they have been cleaned. Thanks in advance for all of your time and feedback. We appreciate it and hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service and accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#3 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
#7 of 16 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Walterboro

Property: Hampton Inn Walterboro
Address: 1835 Sniders Hwy, Walterboro, SC 29488-8699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel is located off I-95 with easy access to I-26 and I-16. Near historic downtown Walterboro, history buffs will also enjoy our convenient location to both Charleston and Savannah only 1 hour away. Relax with great amenities like free Wi-Fi and free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Walterboro Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing