We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Back Again and Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Walterboro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Walterboro
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Back Again and Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We spent the night at this location on 2010; therefore, when we were close by again we spent the night here on the way to Key West. We were so delighted with this chain and the return trip to Maryland we stopped there again. Rooms are a little smaller but clean, great internet, and breakfast out standing. The staff and host are all outstanding and deserve to be commended for a great job. See you next year,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grannypuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Grannypuc,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We appreciate all of your kind words and are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn walterboro.
We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Sincerely,
Solomon Zadeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    139
    97
    70
    32
See reviews for
159
196
35
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Upon arrival everything was great! The room was clean, well decorated (flat screen television and granite counter top on the sink). The room was fairly small in size. We could not get cell phone (AT&T) service in the room, so I had to step outside to make phone calls. While sleeping I saw something crawling on my pillow it looked back so I slapped it and when I turned on the light-there was a bed bug and blood splattered all over the pillow. I contacted the front desk to come up and see the bug and notify them of the situation. Upon further examination of the mattress there were several spots all over the mattress. The hotel staff apologized for what happened but assured me it was not a bed bug-I disagreed completely. The Manager said he would not charge me for one night but I told him I should be not charged for other night either. I also told him the mattress should be thrown away and that room should not be rented until it has been exterminated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reddieshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Value Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our rooms. Our housekeeping staff take pride in their jobs. - I'll let them know that you appreciated their efforts. I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your experience here. We were happy to extend the the 100% satisfaction and refund your stay.
We are contracted with a professional pest-control service, and our policy is to contact them immediately when recieving any complains, which we did.
I hope that you willstay with us on your next visit so we'll have an opportunity to make this up to you.
Please feel free to contact me directly if there is anything I can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stopped here for an overnight off of I-95 and read all the prior reviews. Yes it is an old property with small rooms, like it was 20 years ago. However, the rooms were very clean and the A/C worked great. Breakfast was very good, standard Hampton menu. The staff was the friendliest I have ever seen in a Hampton. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatorman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Aug 11,2011

I appreciated your comments about the cleanliness , Breakfast and friendliest staff. We are pride of our hotel and love to hear great feed back such as this !!
We value each and every one of our guests and try to make their stay as pleasurable as possible.
It means so much to us when guests realy enjoy their stay and how they comeback time after time! we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stopped in on our way to Florida, and found it to be very customer focused. The manager of customer service was at the main entrance greeting customers as they came and went....and always with a big smile!

At mid afternoon they had cookies and cakes.....that went very well with coffee and tea.

Rooms very clean! We will stay there again next year on our way back to Florida.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAvenger53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Aug 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel on your review. I appreciate your praise for our hotel and staff. I am honored to have the opportunity to provide you with the best in service and accommodations.
Your notes will be shared with our team members at our next staff meeting, and I am confident they will appreciates the recognition for a job well done.
Thank you again for choosing our Hampton Inn. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again on your next visit to our area.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Enjoyed my stay while on a short get away trip. Hotel was clean and nice pool and close to the interstate with plenty of food options very close. Nice breakfast in the morning and took side trip to Edisto Island which is about one hour away and a nice drive thru rural South Carolina. Got good value for the money and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us and positive experience with others. We are happy you found our hotel clean and enjoyed our breakfast. We work hard to make this happen and cannot thank you enough for noticing. We also glad you enjoyed your trip to Edisto Island and nice drive thru rural South crolina.
Thanks again for your business and posting. We whish you the best in your travels and hope you will visit again soon.

Best Regads,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The wife & I stayed here on the way back to sunny FL & it was a nice.
Even though this is what I call an "old maid motel" which is an old facility made over on the outside to look like a new one.
We found their ad in one of those highway magazines we picked up at lunch somewhere & for $89 plus taxes it ain't bad.
The check in was friendly & the free hot breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you had a nice stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back again on your next trip to South Carolina.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I have generally had good luck with Hampton Inns, paying more than the average hotels and expecting much more than what I had in return... Yes, the staff was friendly, the room appeared clean but the mildew odor hits you upon entering your room. I thought if we cranked the A.C. it would help...think again. I had difficulty breathing within a few hours and could not get over the dank, musty smell. I did tell the front desk and the reply I was given was " We will let housekeeping know" and that was it. I could have paid half the price at a neighboring hotel, without a great reputation and probably would have been able to breathe and get a somewhat good nights sleep. I am very disappointed and am sure this has to be a common complaint with this location. The last thing you want to deal with after a long day of travel is this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
May 29, 2011

Dear Mumtie:
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Also, thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our rooms, and our friendly staff .
I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your experience here. I would like to utilize this opportunity to express my apologies and concern for the prblems you experienced with your stay.
Mr.Mumtie our hotel is committed to customer satisfaction. Therefore, I have shared your comments with the appropriate members at our company to insure the problems you experienced are addressed.
We were happy to extend the 100% satisfaction and refund your night's stay.
I hope that you'll stay with us on your next visit so we'll have an opportunity to make this up to you.
Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#3 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
#6 of 16 in Walterboro
3.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Walterboro

Property: Hampton Inn Walterboro
Address: 1835 Sniders Hwy, Walterboro, SC 29488-8699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel is located off I-95 with easy access to I-26 and I-16. Near historic downtown Walterboro, history buffs will also enjoy our convenient location to both Charleston and Savannah only 1 hour away. Relax with great amenities like free Wi-Fi and free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Walterboro Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing