We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROBBED WHILE EATING DINNER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Walterboro
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Walterboro
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ROBBED WHILE EATING DINNER”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We checked in at 7:55 PM and walked across the street to the Cracker Barrel for dinner and were robbed of $250.00 in cash, Credit cards, blank checks and $250.00 in gift cards. Our friend next door was also robbed of credit cards and blank checks. Obviously, we were being watched when we checked in. They used a pass key to enter our rooms. This all happened within one hour. We didn't realize we had been robbed until the next morning. I was missing $250.00 in cash. We left the motel and traveled about 60 miles and received a telephone call from the credit card company asking if we had used a particular card the night before in South Carolina. We had not used it. After numerous telephone calls we found out that the credit cards that were missing had been used around 9:00 pm in the area of the motel. The Walterboro police were notified and banks and credit card companies were also notified. We called the manager of the Day's Inn and she insisted that this did not happen at her motel. We explained over and over again to her that it did happen at her motel. We asked her to call the police and check her security tapes. She would not do that. She refused to help us. We have lost a substantial amount of money. It has required a lot of time to change bank accounts and credit card accounts. We feel that this was an inside job. There was no evidence of a break in. Obviously, they had a key to our room and our friends room. We were watched and they knew when to enter our rooms. We do not trust these people. DO NOT STAY IN THIS MOTEL! Who knows how many people have been robbed and didn't know it until they arrived at home. This has been one of the worst experiences of our lives. We feel we have been violated. AGAIN, DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    140
    109
    70
    60
See reviews for
187
167
42
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beachwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I am always skeptical when I find a really good deal but this Days Inn for $40 plus tax for the night fit me perfectly. The queens size bed was comfortable. The room was clean. And although it did have a micro in the room, eating at the Cracker Barrel next door was too convenient to pass up. The mini fridge kept my water cold for the next day's trek which started out with a complimentary hot breakfast. Good deal all around.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phantom70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry-trip, Manager at Days Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank You for your respond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT ONCE AGAIN DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL!!! My uncle booked this hotel without receiving feedback from the other members of his family in regards to hotel accommodations. The first day we checked in my father noticed that the door on the room looked like it had been broken in to. As soon as I turned to A/C on something flew in my eye, and it reeked of vinegar and hot sauce!!! So we could not sleep with the air on!! The next day my father complained to the manager and she refused to give us our $$ back so she decided to move us to another room. Once we changed rooms our sheets and shower curtain had stains which were from lipstick or maybe even blood!! And they were dirty!! We refused to eat the free breakfast because if the rooms looked so bad, we wondered where the food was before it got to the lobby!! If you are going to risk your life and stay here I would only do it if u needed to take a nap! Not overnight. The hotel reminded us of the movie Vacancy!! Avoid it!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candikane30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Walterboro hotels

Seminole, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2010

traveling with mother to attend a funeral for family member. good price, clean, comfortable room. very comfortable beds. impressed with hot breakfast - bagels, fresh fruit, cereals, coffee, oj, biscuits, waffles, sausage gravy, sausage and eggs. able to fix a egg/sausage biscuit. microwave heated it up nicely - would have been perfect with a slice of american cheese! easy accesss to interstate. cracker barrel across stree - walked over for dinner. will definitely stop here in route from tampa bay area of florida to concord, nc.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry-trip, Manager at Days Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thanks for your recent respond regarding your pleasure experience with our hotel.It is our goal to give our guests the best service.Thank again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Nice staff, reasonable price, and had a free breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry-trip, Manager at Days Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank You for your respond regarding your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbovale, WV
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Good and basic overnight lodging when heading to Florida.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLDisMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harry-trip, Manager at Days Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank You for your respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I'm from this town, so I knew the types of motels that are in the area. I used hotwire to book the hotel and got a good nightly rate of $49 per night. After a 6 hr trip with two small children, the clerk told us that hotwire had only booked a single queen bed--even though it clearly stated that we were traveling with children.

They refused to upgrade our room, but $15 per night, we could have a roll out bed and fridge/microwave. I showed them the confirmation sheet from hotwire in regards to the room types--but they still wouldn't budge. Of course, the manager was at a "yoga" class and wouldn't be back until the a.m. We called hotwire and told them of the situation--when hotwire contacted the motel--they were also rude to them!

When we made it upstairs, the roll out bed wouldn't fit with the pack and play crib that we brought for our toddler. Luckily, my mother stayed close, so my oldest child was able to sleep on her couch for two nights.

The room was poorly decorated and even though it was a non-smoking room--the bathroom reaked of smoke! The carpet was really dirty--my toddler's socks are still stained even after I've washed them! The free breakfast was really disappointing--the cups for the juice were about as big as Dixie mouthwash cups! When I obtained the key for the fitness room--I was greeted with a sign that said that the treadmill was out of service. Not only was the treadmill broken, so was the exercise bike! The only working piece of equipment was a small weight bench with two weights!

Luckily, hotwire promised to pay for the additional expenses and gave us $25 credit for our next purchase! We had to get the manager to write out a receipt by hand!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cc2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 17 in Walterboro
535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#3 of 17 in Walterboro
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Walterboro
Ramada Walterboro
#12 of 17 in Walterboro
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Walterboro
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Walterboro

Property: Days Inn Walterboro
Address: 1787 Sniders Hwy, I-95 at Exit 53, Walterboro, SC 29488-8797
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Walterboro 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy Access Off I-95 at Exit 53 and Next to Cracker Barrel! Enjoy warm Southern hospitality at Days Inn Walterboro hotel, near Lowcountry Regional Airport. Explore the South Carolina lowlands or visit historic Charleston and Savannah with ease when yu book a room at our Walterboro hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 95. Catch up on the news with a free USA Today while you enjoy your free Daybreak continental breakfast. Enjoy a refreshing swim in our outdoor pool or check your email with our free Wi-Fi Internet access from our sunny poolside patio. Park your car for free when you stay at our hotel in Walterboro. Microwaves and refrigerators are available at our pet-friendly hotel, as well as non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Nestled in the quiet countryside, Bonnie Doone Plantation is an ideal place to spend the afternoon picnicking, playing softball or canoeing. Explore the beautiful wilderness and admire the wildlife of the South Carolina lowlands at Great Swamp Sanctuary, only five minutes from our Walterboro hotel. Learn about the history of South Carolina, from prehistoric times through the 1900s, at the Colleton Museum. Follow that up with an afternoon in historic downtown Walterboro, where you can shop, dine and take in the charm of the historic buildings. Soak up the sun with a day at Edisto Beach, only one hour away from our front door. DINING OPTIONS There are a number of restaurants near our Walterboro hotel. Enjoy a delicious meal fresh from South Carolina's rich shores at Glass House Seafood Restaurant. Head to Dairy-Land for milk shakes and burgers. Duke's BBQ is a great place for mouth-watering ribs and steaks. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Walterboro has a business center and fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walterboro Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing