We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop by this interesting place if you are nearby”

Charleston Tea Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Charleston Tea Plantation is the home of American Classic Tea, tea grown in America. It is located on picturesque Wadmalaw Island in the heart of South Carolina's Lowcountry. Its grounds include 127 acres of Camellia Sinensis tea plants, a working Tea Factory and a charming Plantation Gift Shoppe. Also available to guests is an adventurous and educational Trolley Tour that explores the scenic grounds that produce American Classic Tea. Complimentary tea is served to visitors throughout the day
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stop by this interesting place if you are nearby”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The stop was worth the trip if you are within 10-15 miles of the plantation. I thoroughly enjoyed the short tour of the facility and was very surprised how tea is make and produced. The guided tour of the fields was informative if a little on the pricey side. I bought tea from the shop and was happy to support the operation. It was really worth the stop and the staff was just the nicest people you could ever ask to meet.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    342
    62
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is worth a visit”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A very interesting side trip from Charleston. The ride through rural areas is a real contrast from Charleston. Well kept grounds and an interesting story about the only tea grown in the US. Nice gift shop.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Davidjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We didn't know what to expect when we stopped by for a tour of the Charleston Tea Plantation. We were pleasantly surprised at how interesting it is. You start out with a self guided tour of the facility where you walk from television to television and a short video runs, explaining what you are looking at. This was informative to us as we visited in late October and they were not processing tea at that time. After the facility tour, you get on an antique bus/trolly to tour the actual plantation. We were all surprised to discover that tea is harvested only from the tops of the plants, and only new growth. They have designed and built a special harvester that you can also inspect. Along this tour you stop at a greenhouse where new plants are germinating. One other plus in the late fall is all of the butterflies! The driver stopped to see all of the butterflies hovering around the tea plants, gaining their strength to continue their migrating journey. Oh yes, you can have all of the free tea you would like to drink and they also have a small, interesting gift shop and clean restrooms. Recommended!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun and informative tour”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a great time visiting the Charleston Tea Plantation. Very interesting back story as to how the present owner has made a success out of what was a failed business. I was surprised at how much I didn't know about tea until we took the factory tour and the tour of the fields and greenhouse. I would highly recommend the tour as well as the store where you can taste many kinds of cold and hot tea.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Majic39571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The setting here is just beautiful. In the Tea Shoppe they have several hot & cold teas to taste. We tried them all. They also have many beautiful teapots & cups for purchase. We did not know what to expect and did not allow ourselves enough time to take the tour. We did take the time to sit on the big porch & look at the Grand Oaks. This is truly a unique experience. Don't miss it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank choltz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Tea Plantation also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Tea Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing