We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Charleston Tea Plantation
from $69.00
More Info
from $76.32
More Info
Reviews (1,357)
Filter reviews
1,357 results
Traveler rating
843
420
80
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
843
420
80
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trolley ride gift shop factory tour tea plantation free samples north america free tour video tour united states angel oak self guided tour minute tour processing plant short video small fee beautiful drive learn how
Filter
Updating list...
1,249 - 1,254 of 1,357 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We took our tour group here for the first time. What's not to love? A personal, insider's tour of the plantation aboard a trolley Bill purchased off eBay from Philadelphia, a peek in the brand new greenhouse, and then a tour of the actual factory...not just films or a demo. Then we had samples of the hot and cold teas and the gift shop is killer, especially if you are a tea lover like myself. All things tea available here, even a tea for one with the pot in the shape of a parrot! If you book a group, Bryn wil take fantastic care of you! If you are individuals, a great stop as well and they also do weddings, corporate, and family celebrations. What a unique setting, America's only tea plantation!

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank StLTourGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Our visit to the Charleston tea plantation was absolutely the highlight of our visit to Charleston! We have been sharing with all who will listen! The trolley tour was fabulous. The driver/guide was so knowledgeable and friendly. The tour itself was very interesting. The factor tour was also a treat. We have been avid tea drinkers for quite a while and now know how our favorite drink came into being! We were also impressed with the prompt delivery of our order from the gift shop. It arrived home one day after we did! We love that the tea is grown and packaged here in the US. No other tea for us from this day forward! Thanks again!

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The plantation visit was well worth the drive. Tours of the factory, fields and lab were informative. The harvesting machine was quite interesting. Samples of the tea were very good. I would recommend the visit to the plantation to everyone.

Date of experience: April 2012
Thank pickytraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeknight, Manager at Charleston Tea Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your nice review of the Charleston Tea Plantation! We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write about us and hope you will visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Although we visited in the winter, their presentation was very informative even though we didn't see actual production.

Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were staying in Kiawah Island and decided to take a day trip to the Charleston Tea Co., a family owned business.
We found the tour very educational and thought-provoking. We saw the acres of tea plants, a new high tech greenhouse, a unique tea harvesting tractor and the tea processing center that was inactive at this time of the year. We were amazed to learn there were more employees in the gift shop than the 3 workers in the acres of fields, maintaining all the tea plants. I also couldn't understand why after the tea is processed in SC, it is shipped to CT for packaging and then shipped back to SC for distribution. In response to my question, the picture got clearer after learning that CTC is now a subsidary of Bigelow Tea that owns the packaging plant in CT.
CTC is higher priced and sold in select shops.

Thank Roch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews