We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting little winery”

Deep Water Vineyard
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Interesting little winery”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The winery has tasting room for the adults and some farm animals for the kids. Also there is a distillery if you prefer that.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnElizabeth97123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    47
    23
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We visited Irvin House Vineyards (and Firefly Distillery) on a cloudy June afternoon. The ride to Wadmalaw Island is about 45 minutes from Charleston, but I find it very enjoyable - the sea islands around Charleston are still largely undeveloped with quite a few gravel and dirt side roads. The winery is very rustic and charming - no paved parking lot. Guests are welcome to wander about the grounds. We opted for the wine tasting - $5 per person for 5 varieties and a souvenir wine glass. We lucked out and were there while the employees were bottling wine. This is only done about 4 weeks out of the year. The video presentation was informative - I enjoyed the entire experience for the friendliness and down home feel of each and every one we met. We both enjoyed the wines and bought a case of an assortment of each kind. The distillery was equally fun - here the tastings were $6 for 6 pours and a souvenir shot glass. Oh, my, the Firefly vodkas and moonshine were tasty! Our "bartender" was also really helpful, friendly and fun. We got a few bottles of Firefly, too. There are a number of special programs offered here; I am hoping to enjoy one of the upcoming events in August. AND...there are a few farm animals here to visit. which we did. We enjoyed our time here - I would recommend visiting Irvin House for a laid back afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not enough to do.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went to the Firefly Distillery and did the tasting there, so we were not up to tasting wine right after. We crossed to the building that houses Irvin Distillery and purchased two sandwiches, which were very good, but there was only one type offered. There was really nothing else to do, but the tastings. There was no tour of the vineyard or where they make the wines. I have been to Sonoma and toured the barrels and where the wines are made. I guess I thought this would be the same.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Better than you think it is”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

When people mention muscadine grapes, I normally think, 'no.' But, I've got to say Irvin House Vineyards changed my mind. There were some great samples to be had, my favorite being the Tara Gold. My girlfriend preferred the Magnolia. The ladies there were so friendly and Erin helped us with our tasting and gave us all kinds of great information about the place. I would drive back out there again and hope to take part in one of their "Sippin' Saturdays" soon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not sweet enough for me”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great tasting and educational experience. Super friendly. I'm just a sweet wine person and their sweetest wasn't sweet enough.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hunter17963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep Water Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Deep Water Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing