We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Find”
Review of Restaurant 17

Restaurant 17
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant 17 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Sourced almost entirely from neighboring farms and nearby streams, the cuisine of Restaurant 17 has earned a reputation for the creative ways it transforms and showcases local ingredients and regional cuisine. It marries classical training and traditional techniques with a progressive culinary perspective. The menu is a reflection of the region, changing daily based on the availability of seasonal ingredients. Chef Greg McPhee believes in the crucial connection between chef and farmer, in cultivating meaningful relationships with local producers and purveyors to secure the best regional grains, meats and produce. As former Executive Sous Chef at Sean Brock's groundbreaking Husk restaurant in Charleston, Greg brings to Restaurant 17 a passion for the heirloom ingredients and preservation techniques of classical cuisine.
Travelers Rest, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

17 is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, in Travelers Rest, SC (about 20 minutes north of Greenville, SC). The food is made from fresh local ingredients, artfully prepared and is absolutely wonderful! Beautiful views, attentive service and unique flavors will keep us coming back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    25
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great food in a great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Our cycling team held a training camp in the area. We stopped at 17 for a mid-day refuel and couldn't have had a better experience. The setting is fabulous in the mountain setting. The food was top notch. The service surpassed many high end restaurants. We will be back as a team and will find a way to get the family here for vacation.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheStolleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food - noteworthy night”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was one of our best meals out, and we've been dating for five years. We started with the beet salad which was refreshing and delightful. My boyfriend had the veal for his entree, and I had the trout. Both were delicious and we were blown away by the attention to detail and the balanced flavors. The wine list is comprehensive, but I enjoyed a peach cider, and even though I'm a light drinker, I somehow managed to down the entire bottle (yes, you get a bottle!) Before your entrees, expect some homemade bread and butter. Everything that's served seems homemade and/or local, and that's one reason why we love this place. The other is because we were fortunate enough to get to meet executive chef Adam Cooke and see his team in action. They're like a well-oiled machine, and it's amazing to see how clean and organized the kitchen is. Bring an appetite, and leave satisfied and inspired.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Addition to the Area”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a lovely meal and welcome this addition to the region. The decor is rather city and modern for the setting (and the music is loud and a bit jarring when the tables are not full). But the food was beautifully presented and offered a unique combination of flavors. The gnocchi was a bit heavier than I would prefer, but the sweet potato and spinach and pear accents were perfect. The salads were light and nicely, but not overly, dressed. The main courses were composed precisely. And the desert -- a meyer lemon tart -- was light and refreshing. Half-price bottles of select wines on Wednesday was a good value. The cocktails are unique and the craft beer choices good. I would like to see this place succeed and look forward to a return trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sg4427408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Few things to improve, but we will come back”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I must preface this by clarifying that we went to dinner on a very busy Valentine's evening, thus affecting a couple of the service elements.
The most important thing was that the food was delicious.
We had the prix fixe menu with wine pairings. The sommelier did not give very generous servings at all. That may have been the results of him zipping around trying to serve over 100 people all by himself rather than wisely having an " assistant".
Another service issue was my wife asking if she could get a substitute for the trout appetizer and the waitress responding with a resounding " No". (Ultimately a substitute with goat cheese was provided).
Prices are definitely on the high side and with hotel rooms priced like Tuscany, 17 and Le Domestique must continue to strive to provide excellent service.
As I said, we will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dlopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Marketing Associate at Restaurant 17, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for visiting Restaurant 17 and taking the time to provide feedback. We're sorry the evening fell short of delivering the experience you expected, and are taking steps to remedy any missteps. We appreciate your patronage of Restaurant 17 and Hotel Domestique and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 17 also viewed

 
Travelers Rest, SC
 

Been to Restaurant 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing