We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Cuban food in Rock Hill”
Review of CARLOS CAFE CUBAN RESTAURANT - CLOSED

CARLOS CAFE CUBAN RESTAURANT
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
York, SC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best Cuban food in Rock Hill”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the real deal! food is as close to being in Cuba as you can get.
The coffee is great and sandwich are to die for.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mattman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    5
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for a late lunch and was pleasantly surprised. Not a chain restaurant but locally owned. The food was amazing. Fresh crisp salads. Homemade ranch dressing. My husband had a Cuban sandwich which he raves about . You have got to try the wings. Next trip to this area Carlos Cafe is on my must do list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DGevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, a little loud”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We loved the wonderfully complex flavors of our meal. Our party had a Cuban sandwich, the chicken & roasted red pepper soup, fettuccine alfredo, the pan fried pork chops and the shrimp and grits. We all loved what we ordered and tasted every one else's food.

Our waitress, a niece of the owners, knew the menu and was friendly and helpful.

Our only complaint is that with the high ceiling, it's pretty loud in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank revjcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just not good!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The food was bland. The cuban sandwich was so so. We got a couple of appetizers that were tasteless. I've had good Cuban food but unfortunately not here. No juices either and my kids don't drink soda. Even the rolls were stale. The people were rude and disorganized. Never going back. We all left very dissatisfied with the whole experience. There are much better places to eat around here so if you are visiting the Charlotte area, go somewhere else.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank love_2_eat_out97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flor-Joe S, Owner at CARLOS CAFE CUBAN RESTAURANT, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Sorry you had a bad experience.. Can't make everyone happy... happy dining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southcarolina
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Addition to Tega Cay”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

First off for the review by linda L: I believe it should be "Not like Ybor City"

Back to my review: There were 3 in my party and we all ordered something different (so we did try each others entrees). We had a Cuban Sandwich, Ropa Vieja, and Pechuga de Pollo a la Parilla.

All three of the main dishes were very good (although I will say the black beans needed a bit more seasoning). We all loved the sweet Plantains, and bread (which was served prior to our meal arriving, and it didn't take long before it was all gone (before we knew it the waitress had brought us a second helping).

We went during the week (Thursday evening) and the restaurant was full. I will say it is not very large inside (it did take some maneuvering to get back to the ladies room between the waiters, waitresses, tables, and customers).

The only thing that I thought was a bit questionable was that when I received the bill there was an 18% tip added on to it already (we were a party of 3 - on the menu it stated that this was reserved for large parties). While I didn't ask about it and just went ahead and paid for my meal (since I figured the waitress deserved it) I did think that it was a little strange.

Overall we were very pleased with our dinners and have plans of going back often.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetegacaysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CARLOS CAFE CUBAN RESTAURANT also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing