We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Cleveland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a Studio Unit, based on reviews we were not expecting much.

Unit was clean and for the first few days we had no one in the adjoining room. Would have been nice to have a balcony attached to room in stead of the common one for all the other units. We were on the second floor.

The pool area was nice and not too crowded, the Resort offers a shuttle to Surfside Beach which is a five minute drive. We ended up taking our own car and paying the parking fee ($1.00 p/hr).

Typical with RCI/HGVC you can get discounts for various things, which helped with one day of golf.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    156
    95
    43
    64
See reviews for
269
124
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The resort is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Property and rooms were very clean and well maintained. On site they have bike rentals, an activity room, indoor pool and hot tub as well as an outdoor pool and a lazy river with a kiddie section. They also have parking passes for myrtle beach state park - get there early as they go quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

After reading all of the reviews I was expecting the worst upon arriving here, but it wasn't too bad. The worst part was when we first walked in to a huge roach on the floor of the room, we didn't even unload until we walked all the way through the resort. But, we didn't see another roach the rest of the trip. The bathroom could use some updating, the toilet clogged repeatedly because it is very small and old. However, my son enjoyed the pools (they could use some cleaning more frequently as well) and the resort was quiet which was also not expected. They had lots of events going on for the kids, the drive to the beach wasn't far. We didn't run into a mean staff member at all. We had a hard time reaching housekeeping once when we needed some trash bags, but we went to the office and they gave us some. The other 2 times we tried to get a hold of housekeeping they were available and quick to deliver what we needed. Most importantly, we weren't pressured to go to any of the RCI presentations even after telling them we weren't interested. Overall, enjoyable and we would consider returning but probably will find somewhere beachview next time.

Room Tip: Only a fridge supplied. Washer, dryer and dishwasher in the unit!! They have adjoining rooms that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Unit needs a good cleaning....housekeeping does not do a good job....refridgerator had dirt in it.....master bedroom needs a good cleaning...a ton of dust on everything....dust and hair on night stand ....BED SHEETS had what look like lint and sand or dirt all over them....WASHED THEM MYSELF......BEDSPREAD LOOKS RAGGED AND FILTHY.......DEAD SPIDER BEHIND NIGHT STAND (I HOPE IF IT MOVES SOMEWILL BE GETTING A CALL).....AND A DIRTY TISSUE BACK THERE......very dissatisfied...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshyne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfside Beach hotels

Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The facilities are good, if you just want to get away or if you are visiting outside the Summer Beach Season. The rooms are nice. They are quick to respond to maintenance requests. If you plan on spending most of your time at the resort, there is plenty to do.They even have an inexpensive buffet breakfast. The towels are not the greatest, but our beds were comfortable.
The shuttle to the beach is a joke. It only holds 14 people and runs once an hour. On Sunday they only had one bus running, leaving many unhappy people at the shuttle stops. I never saw more than 2 running, which is not nearly adequate for the number of guests staying there in August. We are used to staying within walking distance to the beach, so this part was disappointing. If you plan on going to the beach every day, plan on taking your car. There are parking lots near the pier for $1 an hour.
We stayed in the Presidential section, and enjoyed sitting out back by the pond. Groceries and restaurants are nearby, but we went into Myrtle Beach for most of our dinners. The resort is very family friendly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank nancymk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stay at Plantation Resort every time we come to Myrtle Beach area. The resort is a comfortable place to stay NOT a luxury place to stay. Our family only spends minimal time in our room so it suits our needs. We enjoy the outdoor pool & lazy river there on site. The outdoor pool is open 24 hours which makes it nice if you like to go for a late night swim. One particular amenity we enjoy is the Mother Earth day spa on site. Ellen & Ray are exceptional in their massage techniques & very knowledgable in relaxation & pain relief. If you want to feel good from head to toe go for a foot massage from Ray. You ll feel like a new person. Their prices can't be beat & they are all so friendly just adding to the comfort of the spa. We will continue to stay at Plantations when we visit Myrtle in the years to come.

Room Tip: If you're taking a group of 6 or more tell them you' re bringing 10 or more people...you sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gardenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

my husband booked this location but I was skeptical based on the reviews. I must say I was pleased..we had no complaints with the service. The condo has two floors which made it nice. We were not able to use our RCI exchange points but cost was not bad for 5 nights. we have stayed at some fantastic resorts and this was decent! Furniture a little dated but clean. we needed a few repairs but maintenance was there with no problem! Could use updated beds, a little hard!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyV0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
11.9 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#66 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Resort

Property: Plantation Resort
Address: 1250 Highway 17 N, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-6006
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Resort is a Myrtle Beach vacation resort that offers one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom villas for guests. Plantation Resort offers vacation rentals as well as vacation ownership. The amenities at this Myrtle Beach resort include a spa, an outdoor grill, a lazy river, an indoor pool, a fitness center, a beach shuttle and much more. Our resort is location in Surfside Beach which is just south of North Myrtle Beach and Myrtle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Vacatia, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Surfside Beach
Plantation Surfside Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing