We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Get What You Pay For”
Review of Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family stayed here for 5 nights and were surprisingly disappointed. The stay was a RCI time share exchange and the resort is a Gold Crown Resort which are normally very nice properties. We had no problems with the staff - everyone was extremely nice and courteous. The pools were nice and there seemed to be a little something for everyone.

The disappointment came in the accommodations which was supposed to be a "hotel" room and was cramped, extremely out of date (1980's decor), loud and uncomfortable. The dryer did not dry towels and we had to keep turning the air conditioner on because it got hot and off because it was so loud.

The property is pretty close to Broadway at the Beach, Myrtle Waves, Market Commons, the Grand Strand and other attractions. Factor in travel time when going out because Hwy 17 is a nightmare with the traffic.

We can't complain too much because it cost us next to nothing to stay at the resort but we would be hard pressed to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bermudalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    156
    95
    43
    64
See reviews for
269
124
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was not sure what to expect with the mixed reviews online but we were pleasantly surprised when we checked in. Resort grounds are kept very clean and landscaped. The whole week there yard work was being done daiy to keep it looking lush and flowering. We went with 13 year old, 8 and 4. Worked out well because our unit was right near the main pool and kiddie pool. Our unit was a ground floor unit #229-D1. It was a 2 bedroom with full kitchen and walk out patio. The bedrooms were a great size. Master had king with own full bath and other had 2 queens with a shared bath to the hallway. Tvs in all rooms which is great. Kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, cups, silverware. Even paper towels, toilet paper and start off dish cleaning and wash supplies were also included. You do not need to bring linens or beach towels as they supply all. You can also call maintenance mid way to swap out your wet towels for new ones which they drop at your door. The patio looks out on a pond but only negative is there are so many geese/ducks and poop! When we arrived we had poop,on our deck so we called maitenece and they came and cleaned. There Re numerous signs posted not to feed ducks but many people still do. We had the dck cleaned and then whenever we left the deck we lined all the patio chairs up in a row to block the ducks from coming on. It worked fine. Just be sure to do it each time you step away from deck. There is a grill on property but so much poop on grass areas that we did not even attempt to go near it but other people were grilling. The pools are nice. The kiddie pool has a few different sections that kept kids busy and the main pool is across the other side of complex so easy to go from one to other. The main pool is huge so lots of space. They have a grill at main pool with burgers chicken nuggets but it is a bit pricey. Food was really good and my kids requested burgers each day. $6 for a burger and $4 for fries etc. big servings though so at least you felt like you were getting enough for that price. There is a shuttle for beach which one of the pick up spots was right outside our door. About a 10 minute drive not bad at all and the they have a shuttle back on the 1/2 our of every hour. Be warned....can be busy at pick ups so u have to get there about 15 minutes before pick up and waitron line so umcan get on. Only holds 16 passengers or so each trip and u might have to wait for next one. Parking when we went wasn't bad. Always found a spot easily down a few blocks from pier where they drop u off. Had some activities like pool games and movie night but they were kind of cheesy. Movie night was a good idea but the screen was size of our big tv at home....think they could upgrade to a bigger screen! Had a luau and Polynesian night but both were fees and food included was kind of blah for the price. We did not attend. I think location near pool is key otherwise you might have a bit of a walk. We could run back to room easil for a cocktail refill or snacks or whatever. The units in Building #229 was excellent location! Try to request if u have kids!

Room Tip: Building #229 units!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrissykevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed with my entire family (4 adults and 3 teenagers) at the Presidential Villas at Plantation Resort in Surfside Beach the week of July 4th in a 2bd 2bath condo. The villas are very nice. They were modern and clean. There is a little pond in the back with turtles and it was wonderful to sit on the back patio and look at the pond. The outdoor pool was great and there is even a separate kids pool with a lazy river. I attended a couple of the workout classes and those were also great. We didn't use the shuttle to get to the beach but we heard that it was very reliable. We just drove and parked at the beach. It's $1/hr to park.

Checkin wasn't the smoothest for us and it seemed like others were also having issues. We were given keys to a condo but when we opened the door another family was already staying there. When we went back to report this there were a couple other parties that also were having issues with the rooms they were given. We were then placed in another condo and it was a great stay so the rough checkin was soon forgotten.

We had an issue with our ice maker and called the front desk. The issue was immediately taken care of. They replaced the ice maker and brought us bags of ice to use until the ice maker made some more. We were very pleased with the maintenance crew!

Overall it was a wonderful stay and we would return again.

Room Tip: I've noticed that most of the good reviews on here are from the villas and not the hotel rooms s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Plantation Resort in Surfside, I knew I had reserved a lock-off - i.e. a smaller bedroom and bath normally part of a 3 BR 3 BA timeshare condo, and know that lock-offs can be noisy, but this one wasn't. The bed was comfortable, and the bath - with its huge Jacuzzi tub - was really nice. Everything was clean, and there was a nicely sized flat screen hanging on the wall. The small refer was larger than most mini fridges, and the microwave was higher quality than many hotel room microwaves, too.

The amenities are nice - good pools, workout room, etc., and a convenient shuttle to the beach, and the staff friendly and helpful as well.

That all said, the unit would have been nicer with a chair for sitting (like most hotel rooms have), and a couple of dishes and utensils would be nice as well.

What I would most like to see is the golf course on which the resort was built re-opened. It looks like it must have been really nice, and would really be a great addition if it would be operating again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deering, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
259 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a great place to stay! 2 bdr 2 bath loft condo. Sun Lights, washer dryer in condo, dishwasher, coffee maker, blender pots and pans, dishes, ice maker and silverware. Hair dryer in each bathroom. Nice balcony over looking water where we watched the ducks, geese and turtles. Charcoal grills on site. Indoor pool and hot tub open till 10 pm and outdoor pool and hot tub open 24 hours a day. Poolside grill open till 6 pm for hamburgers, hot dogs and grill cheese. Kids water park with lazy river. Nice clean Fitness center/gym and all sorts of aerobic classes. Spa on site by appointment. I highly recommend this place convenient to all attractions, restaurant's and Surfside Beach. I would stay here again no questions or thoughts about it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamanthaW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Rooms are tiny. No kitchen space whatsoever. Customer service is just horrible. When my daughter and son-in-law went to the time share meeting, the First Lady was quite nice. The second gentleman made desparaging remarks about the lady's age. Then told us if we weren't buying to "get the hell out". Mamnegment was no helpful. Rude people and second rate place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethwaters72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfside Beach hotels

Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

There is not much to say about this place. The rooms were clean, the beds were rock hard, the living room furniture is sticky vinyl, the air conditioner has a governor on it, the music at the pool was cycling redundantly with steel drum music. If your are looking for a place to hang your hat this might be acceptable. If you are looking for a place above basic look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
11.9 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#65 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Resort

Property: Plantation Resort
Address: 1250 Highway 17 N, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-6006
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Resort is a Myrtle Beach vacation resort that offers one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom villas for guests. Plantation Resort offers vacation rentals as well as vacation ownership. The amenities at this Myrtle Beach resort include a spa, an outdoor grill, a lazy river, an indoor pool, a fitness center, a beach shuttle and much more. Our resort is location in Surfside Beach which is just south of North Myrtle Beach and Myrtle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Surfside Beach
Plantation Surfside Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing