We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beach Front Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Fredericton, NB
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Good Beach Front Hotel”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the proximity to the beach- and it is a BEAUTIFUL beach. The staff is very friendly, helping us out when our reservations were incorrect- even offering a free drink at the bar for our troubles. The location (between Myrtle Beach and Murrell's Inlet) was very handy to the golf courses we were playing, but I would not suggest ever staying here without a rental car. Most of the restaurants we wanted to go to were outside of the area, so we drove almost every day and night. Due to renovations, we were unable to have an oceanview room, but the renovations are much needed (and I understand they are completed). The rooms are average size, with bar fridges, flat screens, and a small sitting area with a chair and table. The reason I have only given it 3 stars is that the hotel is older, and even with the renovations, they cannot hide the age of the building, the overall decor, or the fact that you can hear a lot through the walls. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good value, on the beach, friendly staff, and easy access to all that Myrtle Beach and the area have to offer. I would not recommend this hotel if you are with a large group of people, looking for a big bar scene, with a lot of action. For us, it was a perfect location for a great golf getaway and we would return and stay in this location again.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront room. The beach is spectacular, and if you get a lower floor, you can watch t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz8Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel! We hope to welcome you back soon!

We are located in Surfside Beach, SC, just miles south of Myrtle Beach. We are tucked away in a quiet residential area. Our oceanfront location is surrounded by Ocean Lakes Family Campground and Vacation Homes. Our hotel offers full service amenities from Breakfast to Dinner. Both the Restaurant and Lounge overlook the pool deck and Atlantic Ocean. We would also recommend a car if traveling to multiple locations or site seeing. We can also arrange transportation (taxi service) for you.

In our ongoing effort to enhance our guest experience we are completing a multi-million dollar renovation. Renovations are ongoing through May 2012. Please contact our front desk for details.


Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    122
    94
    41
    47
See reviews for
146
135
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The housekeeping staff did not really clean. Made bed and replenished the towels but did not leave anymore coffee for the coffee maker, the safe did not work, and they did not leave any new disposable glasses for the bathroom.

The room is small but we were only there at night. The hotel is on the quiet side of the beach which is good. The hotel should consider not allowing dogs. There is nothing worse then trying to fall asleep to the sound of a yapping dog.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mreiman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. I appreciate you providing information regarding our housekeeping shortfalls during your recent stay. You should not have experienced this. I am available offline to discuss this trip and future trips to our area.

We are a pet friendly hotel, but welcome all guests. Our front desk can help relocate or pre-assign any room (per your preference) within the hotel based upon availability. Please let us know of any special requests.

Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We arrived to our upgraded oceanfront hotel only to be told that we have a "city view" (aka parking lot and beyond). We then found a dirty sock under the bed and heard barking dogs next door. When we went downstairs we were told that they are a pet friendly hotel and I asked to be moved as I have a 3 year old and didn't want to listen to 2 dogs barking at night. We were then moved down a floor. Overall rooms were average size, beds were comfortable, and the close beach access was nice. My final thought is that I am all for pet friendly hotels but they should all be on one floor and not mingled with all guests. Their cleaning needs to be a little better but maybe it was an isolated event. I would probably give them a second chance but if it happened again then I definately wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juniper0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
We appreciate you providing a response regarding your recent stay experience.

We are a pet friendly hotel that allows pets 40lbs and under with a non-refundable pet fee. This pet fee contributes to the deep cleaning process of each guest room upon the "pets" departure. Myrtle Beach is a pet friendly area and offers plenty of outdoor activities. There is also a large dog park within 5 miles of the hotel.

Cleanliness is our number one goal. We strive for perfection, but realize we are not. Although Holiday Inn as a brand has been recognized for excellence in service by JD Power and Associates and our hotel has been awarded for exceeding cleanliness standards by our local community, we realize mistakes may/will be made. If at any moment you are dis-satisfied with your stay experience please notify a member of management. We will make it right.

As always, I am available to speak about your stay experience offline. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We could not ask for a better location in Myrtle Beach. The views were awesome and the hotel is right on the beach. You could not get any closer to the water without being in it. The staff were all very friendly and willing to help with whatever you need. As a platinum rewards member, I would recommend this hotel at anytime to anyone. Tom T. GV SC

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (6).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for the great response! I look forward to sharing your feedback with our team!

It is always nice to hear feedback from our valued Priority Club members. Your recommendation and comments can mean so much to potential future guests.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Just returned from a six night stay... L O V E D it..... Was bummed we couldnt get an ocean front room, but using my husbands Priority Club Reward Points, we couldnt complain about the location or the Price... FREE :) The staff was great, and Loved loved the bartender out in the Tiki Hut... She was also from Michigan, as are we... The rooms are a great size for an older hotel.. And clean and comfy... I will agree regarding the AC units being a bit louder than normal, but it didnt keep us up at night. With the ocean only steps from the hotel, who could ask fo rmore... Will make this our "normal" hotel if we return to the Myrtle Beach area in the future.. Surfside is a great little community and busy enough to keep teens busy, but not too busy for Mom and Dad to worry too much..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very glad our hotel, staff and location fit the needs of your family. The description you provided is the "stay experience" we want all guests to receive.

We hope to welcome many more families this upcoming summer!

Thank you again, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel late last March and the weather was just not very cooperative so I really didn't get to enjoy the oceanfront pool or the beach for that matter.
This year was totally different. The weather was beautiful the first week of April so enjoying the views from my Oceanfront King room was quite enjoyable,

I was concerned about the reports of construction possibly cancelling our ocean front room but alas ... all the construction was completed before we arrived as promised and with the exception on some work being done on rooms here or there we really didn't have any issues with construction noise.

The room was very clean, up to date and came equipped with a mini fridge and microwave.
Our room was on the 2nd floor (smoking room per request) and we still had a great view of the ocean and pool/hot tub/tiki bar directly beneath us. The pool and hot tub were cleaned daily and there were plenty of lounge chairs and tables to sit at.

The staff at check-in were great. It was an easy check in process and our room was ready and waiting for us.
We made 2 trips to the Tiki Bar on 2 different days and both times the service was great ! We really enjoyed conversing with the bartender on Thursday afternoon before a quick moving storm chased everyone back inside.

We did enjoy breakfast at the hotel. Food was good. We also ordered food at the bar on our last night there and the food from there was very good as well.
The calamari was very tasty !

There was an issue at the bar the night we were there and while details are not really warranted I did want to express that I felt the staff handled the situation as professionally as they possibly could. The new food and beverage director and the waitress that assisted in the bar that night did a fantastic job with pitching in and should be recognized for their dedication to their customers.
To be honest I have never seen a more hard working group of employees at any hotel. From the maintenance men to the check in staff, all were great.

We will be back :)

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the Ocean Front rooms if available, the views are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahhli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I was apprehensive about my March stay give the reported construction concerns in other reviews, but I am having a great experience. The hotel is clean, you can easily access the beach, and the service is spot on. My only complaint is the in room AC unit is louder than normal.

I couldn't spring for an oceanfront upgrade, but am still enjoying my stay. There is a $5/night surcharge, but no other hidden expenses. I would come back again, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you can afford the oceanfront upgrade, I'm sure its lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and recent stay. I am pleased that you stayed with us during renovation work and you had a "great experience"! We hope to see you again soon!

Please let us know if anything is needed during your stay. Our goal is to provide you with a home away from home.

Major renovation work has been completed and will start back up in the fall. We look forward to a fun 2012 season. Tiki Hut and Scoops Ice Cream Cafe are open for business!

Shoreline Restaurant and New Executive Chef David Hanf will be offering a new menu April 2012!

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.1 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Surfside Beach
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
12.9 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,803 reviews
12.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
Address: 1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach is located just minutes south of Myrtle Beach, SC and minutes from the many Myrtle Beach attractions, including Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, Broadway at the Beach, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, and much more. Situated on Surfside Beach, walk out the door of our hotel to the beautiful beaches of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Surfside Beach hotel offers the comforts of home including spacious guestrooms, complimentary wireless internet access, on-site fitness center, business center, and outdoor pool and whirlpool overlooking the ocean. For your dining pleasure, our Shoreline Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Tiki Hut (seasonal) and Scoops Ice Cream Parlor (seasonal) offer a variety of food and beverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront At Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Holiday Inn Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing