We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2007

We only live an hour and a half from the Myrtle Beach area, so we usually try to avoid it like the plague, thinking our local beaches are better (of course). My neighbor's husband had to work there for the weekend, so we decided at the last minute to join him as a treat to our pre-teen kids. We picked the Days Inn at Surfside because it was close to his work, isn't in a typically "Myrtle Beachy" area, and the price was right. The staff was wonderfully accommodating, the hotel was very clean, and the location is PERFECT. Surfside Beach has more of an old-time beach town atmosphere--very laid back. The beach is beautiful and ample, the pier is lovely, and you NEVER have to get in your car, as there are beach shops and several wonderful eateries and bars within a few feet of the hotel. The hotel restaurant resembles a Huddle House, but the service is great, the price is right, and the food is, well, Huddle House type food, very adequate. Nibil's Restaurant is next door is fabulous, with great service and a great family atmosphere. Sophia's is across the street and has ice cream treats to die for (at a great price). Check the Days Inn website for big savings in the coupon section.

  • Liked — Right on the beach, all rooms with an ocean view, price.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MaryFNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    316
    104
    45
    24
See reviews for
556
470
45
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2007

The Days Inn in Surfside is a wonderful - economic way to enjoy the beach. Its not a 5 star hotel, so if thats what you are used to, this won't be for you! However, if your looking for friendly wonderful staff, clean nicely decorated rooms, peace, ample parking, fridge and microwave, a small but adequate balcony, and a decent rate, you can look NO further than this property.

The location is RIGHT on the beach, no hassle, no dragging your stuff across busy streets. If you get tired of the ocean, your right at the pool for a change of pace. There is an outside bar, several dining places, a small gift shop and an ice cream place within walking distance. My favorite is Nibbles on the pier. They have specials each night and its always good. The hotel itself has a cafe which always has a VERY reasonable breakfast - usually around 5.00!

I have never been dissappointed at this hotel. If there was any slight issue, it was resolved immediately. The front desk is very helpful with directions, suggestions, anything you may need! Check the rates at their website daysinnsurfside.com and click the link for coupons for extra savings.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank likestosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2006

Your average room in the Myrtle Beach area will cost you $200 per night this time of year. A large king room at Days Inn Surfside was a pleasant surprise at just $115 per night. The room was not fancy, but was clean and neat. Housekeeping and front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. I recommend the hotel restaurant for a good breakfast at a very reasonable price. Balcony was small and cramped but view of the ocean was good. Overall, no major complaints and we will more than likely stay again in the future.

  • Liked — proximity to beach, fishing pier
  • Disliked — small balcony
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dealluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

When we arrived at the Days Inn Surfside, I could not believe how fast and efficient the check-in to our internet-booked was. The front desk staff were very friendly, professional and efficient! The room was nice -- unfortunately, they all face either north or south so you can't get a full oceanfront room but EVERYONE can at least face up or down the beach.

This hotel is located away from the main Myrtle Beach strip which is what we wanted. There are no other hotels around so the area/ beach is much quieter than the tacky tourist area. The only downside is that this means that there are less restaurants within walking distance so you'll probably have to drive to go for a nicer meal and/ or to shop. The south-facing room we had also faces a patio bar which meant we had to listen to many bad renditions of Jimmy Buffet songs and people leaving the bar talking loudly. But, the music stopped early enough (when we were there) so it shouldn't affect your sleep if you leave the door open to hear the waves.

The check-out was just as awesome and we were done within a minute. Great work to all front desk staff at this hotel!!

Helpful?
5 Thank rklarer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2006

We were in Myrtle Beach to attend a wedding at Pawleys Island and looked for an affordable place to stay. Days Inn at Surfside was the best price to be on the ocean that I could find. We were very pleased with our stay there. The staff had to be the most friendly, down to earth group that I have ever encountered at a hotel. The breakfast at the hotel was very good and amazingly affordable for a hotel. Had the special for 3.85! We also ate at Nibils restaurant that is located right outside the doors of the Inn and that food was delicious! Our room was clean and nice, but the view of the ocean is somewhat limited due to the fact the hotel room balconys open to the sides of the building instead of direct to the oceanfront. Would definitely stay there again and probably will. My niece had stayed there the year before and the hotel had sent her a discount for her next stay and the hotel let me, my sister and the niece (3 rooms) use the discount coupon! The beach was not crowded and the pier is also right outside the door. Beside the hotel on the other side is Scotty's Bar and Grill. I am not a drinker but we did sit on their deck with the ocean in full view and listen to the live music. Just wish I had time to have booked longer.......

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWOJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2006

I just got back from Staying at Days Inn Surfside. Mostly checked in due to the fantastic price for an oceanfront property. I was pleased with the cleanliness of the room which also had a huge refrigerator and micro. It was so quiet and relaxing. I enjoyed coffee in the mornings watching the ocean on the balcony. And watching the kite-flying on the beach at night. It was a postcard kind of setting for a budget motel. The day staff and housekeeping was great. We hardly left the area because it was so nice with wonderful casual dining and bars nearby. If you want to relax and not fight traffic and overcrowded parking garages and long waits for elevators, Days Inn Surfside will leave you with great memories. I should mention that there is no guest laundry. If you want to freshen those beach towels up, you'll be doing so a couple miles away.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raminal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

We just returned from a week at this Days Inn which is right on one of the nicest beaches in the Grand Strand area. I was expecting the typical no-frills, run down, "oh well it's better than nothing" kind of experience I have had at other Days Inn hotels. I am pleased to report that I was pleasantly surprized at this hotel! It was extremely clean! Perfect for families who don't want the commercialization of the Myrtle Beach strip. Our room was the closest to the ocean so sitting on the balcony at night watching the late night swimmers and joggers was very relaxing. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant on site is more of a diner - good for breakfast. But there are about 4 other restaurants adjacent to the property which were very good and you could find just about anything you wanted. The ice cream shop across the street was great as well. All in all I would definitely stay here again since it has everything I wanted at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
11.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
11.8 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Property: Surfside Beach Resort
Address: 15 S Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-3633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing