We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$153
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Surfside Beach)
$110
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Resort(Surfside Beach)
$149
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Astro Motel(Myrtle Beach)
$70
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Garden City Inn(Murrells Inlet)
$99
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$201
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Club Villas(Surfside Beach)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,716)
Filter reviews
1,716 results
Traveler rating
1,111
400
127
51
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,111
400
127
51
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish shackbeach barsurf dinerfishing pierrestaurants within walking distancepool and hot tubriver city cafesmall balconyocean viewacross the streetgreat place to staybike weekclean roomslocation was perfectfront desk staffshort drivebeach access
Filter
Updating list...
1,667 - 1,672 of 1,716 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2010

First, let me say we have stayed here for a couple of years with very positive results. This trip was the worst "away" experience we have had in quite a few years. We checked in at 3pm and the elevators were not working. No problem, went to Nibbles and had a late lunch. Came back at 4:30, elevators were still not working. Made a trip up 8 flights of stairs, husband has COPD. Only help offered was a sweet teenager we met on the stairs. First two floors on stairs smelled strongly of urine...horrible. We made 4 trips up those 8 flights of stairs. Room has toothpaste from previous tenent and sand on the desk, but we can't call housekeeping because we don't have a phone. Front desk is really not sympathetic, however, we don't want sympathy, we want an elevator. By the way, there is a person on this floor who is confined to a wheelchair and desk told them if there was a problem, they would call the fire department....now how long would it take for a rescue?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebecca_shaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2010

On behalf of the entire staff at the Surfside Beach Resort, I sincerely apologize for the
inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us. I have spoken to the Front Desk staff as well as our Housekeeping Dept. in regards to the issues you have raised. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us, and assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis as well as in regards to special circumstances such as we encountered that weekend, when a severe electrical storm knocked out our elevators and phone system.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This hotel is filthy, smells horrible, the carpet is so soaked with carpet spray, shoes stick to it. I had stayed here once 5 years ago and it had the same problems was called Days Inn then. Has a name change but still as disguisting. The staff is some of the rudest people I have ever encountered. The smell is so bad from the room sprays it gets in your mouth. AVOID THIS SLUM HOTEL, no telling what disease you may catch there. We checked our room out first, thank god we did, bathroom filthy, rugs, beds I refused to stay there even if we had lost our money for cancelling.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The hotel is nice because it is right on the beach. We have been staying at this hotel for the past 5 years. The decor really needs to be updated. The couch had a huge ripe in the side and all of the furniture is showing its age. The rugs are also showing its age. I hope they update this hotel soon or I will be forced to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Great news!

The hotel has undergone a complete remodel including guest rooms and common areas. We hope you will return for a visit soon and see how proud we are of our new surroundings. We know you won't be disappointed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I just wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful stay at your hotel 7/11-7/16. It was my parent's 50 wedding anniversary and the entire family met up and stayed at your hotel to celebrate.

The accommodations were perfect for young and old alike.

What made the trip even more special was the use of your conference room each night for dinner. We are a close family and enjoy sharing meals together. Miss Virginia went out of her way each dinner hour to make sure we had everything we needed. She even came back in to make us coffee!

We have memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We were traveling with 15 from our family to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary.
Everyone at the Surfside was more than helpful, especially the people at the desk.
The breakfast place was very good. Ask to sit in Helen's area for a lot of laughs!
We really want to thank Miss Virginia for letting us use the conference room. What would we have done without her?

Of course, the older kids loved Scotty's. We did too!
We look forward to coming back next year!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottsman017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews