We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORT !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“COMFORT !”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had stayed at this resort for 7 days , extremely comforting and the staff always went above and beyond.
SHARON , at the front desk had told me where to go out and eat and the sights that I should check out.
The rooms were emaculate and the sight out of your room will put you in awe ! the sunrises were as beautiful as all the staff.
Thank You ! Michael C

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Michael C,
Thank you for both staying with us and reviewing the hotel. We are so proud to hear that Sharon and the rest of the staff exceeded your expectations and that the room was clean and more than met your needs. Hope to see you in the near future
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    358
    113
    48
    26
See reviews for
650
547
53
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

First off I'd like to give my most heartfelt thanks to Lori Posma, Assistant Manager. Upon arrival, it was discovered I have made a mistake in making my reservation. I was shown as a no show for the day before. However Lori was extremely accommodating and took the time to fix my reservation without penalizing me for the no show and without making me feel like an idiot.

I stayed in a deluxe balcony room with 2 queen beds. The room was bright clean and comfortable. It is always a welcome sight to find an in room coffee maker as well as a fridge and microwave. During my stay they were in the midst of a remodel and would soon have all new furnishings in the rooms which will really be a bonus.

The hotel is located right in the middle of the action at Surfside Beach. There are 4 restaurants in walking distance. When you are there you have to try the catfish at Bubba's Fish Shack right across the street. There are a couple of bars close by, a beach shop as well as the Pier. The location right on the beach just can't be beat.

The only minor negatives I can say about this property is the doors really need to have soft closers installed, you always heard doors being slammed shut and were constantly aware of not slamming your own. Also it is an older property and not as well sound proofed as new ones so you can become intimately acquainted with your neighbor.

All in all it was a great stay and I have already booked my return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoBayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear MoBay Girl
We really appreciate both your staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel. It is the comments of valued guests like you that helps us continue to improve our product and service. We are so glad to hear that our staff went the extra mile to accommodate your reservation change. Also we are happy that both the room and the location exceeded your expectations. Part of the renovations includes new door closures which will help soften the way doors close and reduce the "slam effect".
Again, thanks,
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights this time, and we were again impressed with the courteous staff, and with Bill Miller. He is so caring, and professional. We so like the Surfside area, and tell all our friends and family about the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite, it was perfect, as my husband is an early riser, and I am not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Kathy H,
Thanks so much for returning to the hotel on your last visit to Surfside Beach. We are proud to hear that Bill and the other associates are providing courteous and efficient service. We look forward to your returning.

Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just made a quick trip to the Myrtle Beach area for a family event. I dont like staying in Myrtle Beach but do enjoy Surfside and Murrells Inlet. This location is perfect, on the ocean and not far from all the major attractions. This hotel has been around for awhile but it can be seen that the new owners are working on making it very nice. I did have some issues with my reservations but Bill at the front desk figured it all out. I would reccomend a higher floor room at the hotel just to be able to get a better view of the ocean. The pier is located steps from the aprking lot and plenty of great restaurants to visit.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear James Z,
We really appreciate your staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel. Surfside is the quiet, family oriented alternative to Myrtle Beach while being just minutes from all it has to offer. We are continuing tp renovate the hotel to make it even more comfortable and convenient for our guests.
Thanks,
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have traveled to the Surfside/Garden City area for more than 20 years and have stayed in this hotel through a variety of changes and ownerships during that time. On this occassion we ran into a large renovation project that, unbeknownst to us when booking the hotel, was in full progress. A follow-up survey that I responded to reulted in a manager's e-mail offering us a $50 credit on our next stay.

Room Tip: All rooms come with a side view of the ocean, but I would recommend waiting for the renovations to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear T-GandJ-C,
We appreciate both your staying with us and your Trip Advisor comments. We are nearing the end of the renovations and are looking forward to the new furniture, 40" flat screen TVs, drapes, docking stations, and more to be here in March. We look forward to your returning to the newer and better Surfside Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Ryan behind the bar was great. Kept us entertained all night. Karaoke night was a great night and Scott the DJ had a great selection off music for the guest. It was great to see multiple tv's covering the Olympics.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wondmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Wondmand,
Thanks for your gracious comments about Scotty's and the staff. As Surfside Beach's only oceanfront beach bar, Scotty's has been a favorite of visitors and locals alike for years. We are proud to announce it's only going to get better as we renovate in the next month with new paint decor, ceiling fans, lights, tables and chairs thoughout the bar to go along with the renovations taking place at the hotel. We look forward to your seeing the new look with the same old southern Surfside Beach Resort hospitality.
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

1st time in SC, took a chance on this hotel Very pleased, clean and comfy beds and room. Booked again 3 months later. Same. Will book again for upcoming trip, providing rates stay low. Love this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lab1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Lab1265,
We want to thank you for both staying with us and reviewing the hotel. The comments of valued guests like you allow us to continue to improve the product and services of the hotel. Clean and comfy, what a great endorsement and compliment, again thank you. We look forward to hosting your next Surfside Beach visit.
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
11.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,835 reviews
11.8 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,725 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Surfside Beach
103 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Property: Surfside Beach Resort
Address: 15 S Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-3633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing