We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love this hotel. Will definitely come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this hotel. Will definitely come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family of 5 stayed here the week before July 4, and had a great time (even with the rain)! The hotel has recently been renovated in lovely colors. We stayed in the extended room -- well worth the extra $20. We could have easily fit a double blow-up mattress there if we needed it. The space was great and gave us room to spread out. The folks working the desk were friendly and helpful, and got us a room right next to our friends. The best thing about this hotel by far is the LOCATION! You are literally steps from several great restaurants, surf shops, ice cream stores, and beach bars. Scotty's beach bar is a blast; live music and affordable cocktails. You can sit on the deck and watch your kids swim in the hotel pool. The pier is fun too and we had a great time fishing. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay that is clean, right on the beach, and walking distance to everything, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Go for the extended room -- it is very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelBel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We appreciate your comments about the hotel, because it is all about location. We are right on the beach within walking distance of nearly everything you could need, including the fishing pier. We look forward to hosting your next Surfside beach vaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    268
    91
    40
    20
See reviews for
477
374
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went to this hotel based on the Tripadvisor comments we had read about with respect to hotels in the Myrtle Beach area. When we got there our room was ready, the booking in was easy and fast. When we went to the room it had two queens instead of a king, we went back down to the front desk and they were very friendly and helpful. Bill, the front desk manager, was incredible and got us our room in mere minutes. The whole attitude of the front desk staff was great.

Later in the day we found out that we were paying a lot more for the room than other people booking in (we heard their rate being quoted to them) and when we mentioned that, Bill looked after us and got us a refund again very helpful and kind. (We had booked from a so called discount site. Lesson learned here; find out the best on line price then call the hotel directly, they can match or beat the so called discount sites).

We travel a lot and many hotels boast of good customer service, this hotel delivers great customer service, it's not an accident, they work at it.

The owners of this hotel have done a great job hiring the right people and obviously encouraging a positive experiance for all.

Cheers, we will return one day and have already recommended it to our friends.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharChar5789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments on the hotel. We are proud that our associates, especially Bill, responded to meet your needs and enhanced your positive experience at Surfside Beach Resort. We look forward to hosting your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

First time in Surfside Beach, what a great beautiful town! The beach is the cleanest I have seen --gorgeous water and sand! The Surfside Beach Resort sits right on the water...Older hotel but all remodeled. Clean rooms..all Ocean View...little balcony , ( needs a tiny table ) . Rooms were well kept and and all equipped with microwave and refrigerator. Ruby, the front desk clerk took my reservation over the phone and was so very helpful.She told us all about the area and all the different restaurants around the hotel. She was spot on! We took all of her recommendations, ate at the places she said and we were very happy. Nice to have a helpful front desk person...I would come back and stay here anytime..Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amore1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your review and comments on the hotel and town. Surfside Beach is a wonderful little town and one of the secrets of the Myrtle Beach area, especially for those looking for less crowded and quieter. We also appreciate your comments about Ruby, she's a gem, too. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Surfside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

High marks on all counts. (Replace the faulty elevators and all would be Perfect!!)
Especially highest marks for Bill Miller, who is the Front Desk Manager. He is terrific -- professional, helpful, knowledgeable, efficient, and great 'people skills'!
And the location, caring staff, cleanliness, and fast responses to any needs just make Surfside Beach Resort a perfect place to bring the family (or - in our case - our 3 families for a reunion!)

Room Tip: if possible stay away from the noisy elevator shafts :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are so proud to hear that our associates, especially Bill, met the needs of your group of 3 families. Hope you will visit us soon and make the Surfside Beach Resort your home away from home at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We really liked Surfside Beach Resort. We had never stayed at that end of the Strand before and it was wonderful, not crowded and beautiful beaches. Front desk staffer, Stephen, made our check in very easy and he was very helpful filling us in on local restaurants and activities. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryRickCassMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Well, you have found out the secret of Surfside Beach, the quiet, uncrowded, family friendly gem on the south end of the Grand Strand. We are so happy our associate was both friendly and informative. Hurry back and relax with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Live in Parma, Ohio and spent vacation time at Kitty Hawk, NC and decided to travel down to Surfside Beach on the spur of the moment to look at a condo. We found the Surfside Beach Resort right at the ocean and were thrilled to find such a nice and clean place and decided to spend the night. Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The associates at the check in desk were so helpful and friendly and made us feel so welcome. They keep their ocean beach very clean and my grandson had a great time in their pool. There is a very quaint restaurant across the street called Bubba's and they have the most delicious popcorn shrimp. The time we spent in Surfside Beach, SC made for a very memorable time and if we're ever back down to Surfside Beach, we can hardly wait to stay at the Surfside Beach Resort again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowers4Algernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. We apprieciate hearing that our staff has met or exceeded your expectations. We are really in the "vacation memories" business as much as the hotel business and are so glad we were able to be a part of your "WOW Surfside" experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purdue-Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

spent four nights June 15-18, 2013 and likewise found it clean with friendly staff. everything you need for a beach holiday, pool, direct access to beach, outside shower. air handling is really pretty good, ice machine, well get there early! comfortable bed, basic bathroom. across from bar, restaurant, pier, and golf cart rental. some parking under building. plain, but great location.

Room Tip: south side faces pool, so you might want higher floors on that side. can see ocean from both sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We really appreciate your comments on the hotel. We're so glad that we had what you needed for a comfortable beach vacation and hope to host your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
12.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#21 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
11.8 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Property: Surfside Beach Resort
Address: 15 S Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-3633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing