We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mamma Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mamma Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had excellent service at Surfside Beach Resort. My granddaughter came to surprise me and the staff was exceptionally nice to her until I arrived. The desk staff, at any hour I was in the lobby, were friendly and knowledgeable about the area. One staff member looked up where I could get an Italian Icy about 9 in the evening and called me back with information. There was always fresh coffee at all times even early morning and late evening. The room had queen beds and was clean and fit our needs. The housekeepers were friendly and accommodated us with whatever we asked. Having the pier, restaurants and fun shops so close was a plus. I will recommend the Surfside Beach Resort to family and friends. The price was much better than some of the nearby hotels.

Room Tip: We were on the eighth floor with balcony. The wind caused noise. View great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to show you what southern hospitality is all about. We look forward to your next trip to Surfside Beach and we will show you more of the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    289
    98
    44
    22
See reviews for
515
412
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Staying here during Spring break for one night meant we had to pay a ridiculously high price for the room.
The room itself was clean and the people at reception were friendly when we booked in.
The rooms are a little outdated in decor, but having a fridge and a microwave is a plus. The sink is on the outside of the bathroom in the room which is a little awkward also. The view from the room is beautiful.
Unfortunately when we woke up to take our showers we found there to be no hot water. After attempting to call down to the front desk 5 times we could not get through and had to go down the 7 stories to speak to them- there was a problem with the phones. When we told them we had no hot water they said the whole building did not have hot water and they could not tell us when it would be back on. Unfortunately by 10am we had to leave and the hot water was still not on. We were expecting to have some form of refund when we checked out- however we did not even get an apology!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the hot water. Our boilers are equipped with sensors that shut them down automatically when they detect a problem. This prevents the boilers from exploding and causing serious damage and possibly bodily harm. We were able to return them to service in a very short time considering it was a weekend but we realize you were inconvenienced because it happened early in the morning when so many people are taking showers. We are glad the sensors worked as they are designed however or we could have been dealing with a lot more than the lack of hot water. We did try to make it right with anyone that requested it but many people were out or did not say anything to us about the outage. If you would like a refund you may call the resort and ask to speak to a manager and we will be happy to assist you with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a special rate of $39.00 a night for staying here before. Arrived a day early (holiday) was told previously holiday rates did not apply. Was given that day for the same price. Not crowded at all. Like the location. Friendly staff through out the five day period. Found several places to go because the beach was windy and cold most days during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjeanconnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and come back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just got back from Surfside Beach Resort. Room was ideal for the view and what we needed it
for. Equipped with microwave and mini fridge. Smaller than some rooms but had a little balcony.
Front desk staff was great. Ruby was super even when there was a with a check in back up. Understand hotel was redone a few years ago. Great for a family getaway close to the beach.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view probably all rooms above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingIveyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Groupon has kept us hopping this spring and we appreciate your patronage. Watch for future specials as well. Several are in the works for the fall, winter and spring. Thanks for staying with us and we'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife & I decided to escape and head down to warmer climate for a week. Some friends had suggested Surfside as it is close to Myrtle Beach but less crowded & hectic. It has a beachfront with a beach that doesn’t get crowded.

I can’t attest to the crowded beach because it was unusually cold as well as windy. Nobody was on the beach except for fully clothed walkers and joggers. The rooms are small and outdated but because of the great location and view it was expected. The walls are very thin as you can hear everything in the adjacent rooms at night. I had to call downstairs at 11:30 one night because of some younger children banging doors and running in the hall. They said they would take care of it. I did hear them every night but they were done by a little after 11. I love kids but not when you want to get up early. The pool was closed but the sauna was working. It is in the parking lot which is a turn off. We didn’t use it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The elevators are slow and jerky and noisy. The balconies are very small but do offer a great view. They also charged us $6 resort fee each day. The price of the room was reasonable but the resort fee should have been waved if there at all. There really is nothing there resort like. There isn’t any mini bar in the rooms. No bar or restaurant in the resort. It has a small pool (that was o/o/s) and a sauna that most hotels have. Oh and they are located in a blacktop parking lot without any privacy.

Maybe it was the cold dreary weather that is clouding my judgment but it was just ok. Although the staff was friendly they never an apology for the late night episode. It's always nice to hear. That is why just an average for service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjoyce179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments about your recent stay. I have passed them on the the Front Office Manager for him to address with our staff. We always want to put our best foot forward and reviews like yours help us do just that. We hope you will come back to visit soon and that you will choose the Surfside Beach Resort for you accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family spent a two days here over spring break. The hotel is slightly aged (especially noticeable by sinks, fixtures, etc.) but it's clean and the decor is reasonably updated. The rooms come with a balcony with a nice view of the ocean, though the balcony is extremely small. The biggest plus for this hotel is the amazing location. There are three immediate entrances from the hotel parking lot directly onto the beach, right next to the pier in Surfside Beach. I couldn't have asked for a better location. I got a great deal on the room (super deal on Groupon) but if I had had to pay the full $450 stated rate, I probably would've been disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms facing south face the beach bar next door which plays music until 1 AM, though with a fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamallama_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calabash, nc
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a couple rooms booked for a family funeral. The staff at the Resort took care of everything .The rooms were great, they put us together , they always had a smile . Thank you all for everything you did for us.We look forward to coming back !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfcondo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. It is always nice to hear that we have made another guest happy with their visit to the resort. While we are not the biggest on the beach we try to be the best at what we do every day. We look forward to having you back again when we will meet you with our big smiles and happy attitudes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#21 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,882 reviews
5.8 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Property: Surfside Beach Resort
Address: 15 S Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-3633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing