We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Surfside Beach)
$140
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Resort(Surfside Beach)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Astro Motel(Myrtle Beach)
$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
$249
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$409
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark(Myrtle Beach)
$325
$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tropical Seas Hotel(Myrtle Beach)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,656)
Filter reviews
1,656 results
Traveler rating
1,069
389
121
50
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,069
389
121
50
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish shackbeach barrestaurants within walking distancefishing pierbike weeksurf dinerpool and hot tubsmall balconyriver city cafeocean viewacross the streetgreat place to stayclean roomslocation was perfectfront desk staffbeach accessshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
1,497 - 1,502 of 1,656 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed a weekend with a bunch of friends on a golf outing. The front desk staff was very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were very nicely appointed. I have been coming here for years and this is nicest the hotel has looked ever. I miss the restaurant but with so many options available locally, it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Surfside Beach Resort for your stay. We hope to see you and the rest of the group again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Back again for the 22nd year, I found the hotel to be in the best condition I have seen in quite some time. The management and staff have always made me feel welcome and they go out of their way to ensure that I have a great experience. With the convience of nearby restaurants and activities, I will look forward to returning to Surfside Beach Resort real soon.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms on the north side give you a great view of the pier and ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you have made us a part of your plans here along the Grand Strand for so many years. We have a great location, lots of fine food and shopping all around us,a knowledgeable staff and some of the best golfing available anywhere. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

1. Upon arrival we are informed that the pool is closed .. "Hey the hot tub is open" ummm hmm okay ... 2. I walk into the room and the smell is horrible ! Smells of must and mildew 3. 50% of the lighting in the room does not Work . 4. The tub/ shower was disgusting !!! The toilet was rusted through out just plain nasty ! I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN. It would not hurt for this hotel to so some renovating major renovating or just shut down all together

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shun1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We are always here to solve any problems a guest may encounter during their stay. We would have been happy to move you to another room if you would have told us you were not happy. Most of our rooms have been fully remodeled but a few of our bathrooms still have not been. Some of our rooms have also been off of the market for routine repairs during the off season and it appears as though we did not get your room properly taken care of before your arrival.

Most of the lighting in our rooms is controlled by wall switches near the front door as well as a switch on the lamps themselves. Many times the wall switches are off so it appears the bulbs may out in the lamp. Many times a guest will unplug our lamps to plug their cell phone chargers in as well. This is an item that is on the housekeeper's list each day to check but they do miss one occasionally. Again, a simple call to the front desk would have eliminated this problem.

Our pool is closed due to ADA requirements as is every commercial pool in the US that has not completed these updates. It will reopen as soon as the required work is completed. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We are never happy to hear about a bad guest experience, especially after the fact. Our staff is trained to help with guest requests while they are here, but they have to know about them to be able to help. In the future please ask for assistance anywhere you may choose to stay. You most likely will find a well trained staff eager to assist you with your request and you can do what you came to do, relax!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed one night at Surfside Beach Resort. The room was beautiful with furnishings to match. Checkin and out was quick and pleasant. Excellant location. The only downside was the lack of all eating equipment (plates, cups, glasses, silverware, etc.). There were styrofoam cups for the coffee maker but not so much as a spoon to stir with. Thank heavens there was a great restaurant right next door (River City Cafe).

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank One_Lucky_Guy_in_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Surfside Beach Resort for your recent stay in Surfside Beach. We are glad you found the room to your liking. We have refrigerators and microwaves in our rooms for basic food needs but we do not provide full kitchen services in the rooms. For most of our guests this works well. The coffee amenity packets we provide for the coffeemakers do have plastic stirring sticks included in them but it is possible you received one without the sticks. We are sorry for the inconvenience this might have caused.

We hope you will return to Surfside Beach very soon and that you will allow us to be your choice for accommodations while you are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First of all, I want to disclaim that I got to stay at this property for a very much reduced rate from an online offer. That being said, I think that it is fair to review the property based on what the "regular" rate would be.

This hotel charges an additional $6 per night "Resort Ameneties Fee". At other beach front properties this is generally used to pay for the fancier-than-motel pool, or perhaps some additional in room amenities like snacks, or other on-site benefit. At SBR, this fee had no benefit. The pool was closed for refurbishing to comply with ADA requirements.

But enought from the title tease.

The rooms are small, yet average-for-beachfront properties. There are two double beds, a 20-something-inch CRT TV with cable. The quality was adequate (better than getting fancy LCDs and feeding them analog signals). There is a single vanity outside of the bathroom/toilet. This is nice so family members can get ready while someone is in the shower.

Our water pressure was poor to tolerable in the shower and excessive in the sink. Hot water was hot, cold water was cold, but the mixing point was so narrow that a tap of the handle to the left or right would quickly make it too hot or too cold.

There are plenty of drawers, two separate tables, three chairs and a nice balcony from which to watch the ocean waves crash onto the beach. The window to the balcony opens (believe it or not, been to places where this is NOT the case).

Obviously the location was incredible. We really like Surfside Beach and will gladly go again in the future. There is so much less hustle and bustle than you get from the Grand Strand of Myrtle Beach. The local food is affordable and good.

Here are some of the things that contributed to a low review for this property:
- Resort fee (again, for what? A closed pool? There are NO other amenities at this property)
- We were in a room right behind the elevator. Perhaps because of our "discount" status? One elevator didn't bother us. But the elevator on the side closest to the side of the building was VERY loud and sounded like it is ready to fall off its track. It reminded me of a really bad shopping cart, thumping and banging all the way up and down. AVOID ANY ROOM ENDING IN 22 until they fix this elevator (avoid that elevator, too)!
- Housekeeping came in, swapped towels, complied with a request for an extra towel, took out the most of the trash, but FORGOT TO MAKE THE BEDS! Not something you go crying down to the front desk about, but you register this sort of thing in the back of your mind and wonder "what the heck?"

Over all, we enjoyed our stay in the area and would return to the area again. However, in the pre-Spring Break season, we may venture up without a reservation and see what is available on Condo Row where prices were going for about the same as what we paid, and in the middle of it all.

Room Tip: Avoid any room ending in 22.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about the Surfside Beach Resort. We are glad you took advantage of one of the several online flash sales we offered during the off season. One of the reasons we offer such low rates is that it is that time of year when we are reworking our rooms and common areas to get them back in shape for the upcoming summer season and we know our guests might encounter some inconveniences during their stay. One of those inconveniences has been the closing of our pool and hot tub for the ADA improvements that every commercial pool in the US must make in order to meet the current ADA requirements or be shut down. We have finished the hot tub improvements and we are waiting on the pool upgrades to begin on the pool. Obviously we would like to have the pool open but we are complying with the law. We want to be sure all of our guests including the handicapped have access to our pool and hot tub.

While we are not a large resort with a pool fancier than the hotel, one of the better things that our resort fee helps us provide is beach side parking just steps from the building and the ocean. That is very rare along the Grand Strand these days. More and more resorts are offering off-site parking, sometimes blocks from the resort and almost always across a busy street. Anyone who has ever had to cross one of these streets with small children and the elderly knows how scary this can be. Many of these resorts are now charging for this parking as well, some as much as $9.00 per day! We have just installed one of the best state of the art high speed wireless internet systems available and new TVs, safes and elevators are on the way. Our resort fee helps us expedite these improvements.

Whether you want to stay in Surfside Beach where there is less hustle and bustle or in the middle of it all as you put it, we provide a nice place to stay, in a great location surrounded by food, drinks, shopping and a less crowded, beautiful beach at a very reasonable price. Even with the resort fee added we are less expensive than our competition here in Surfside Beach as well as most any other comparable property in the Myrtle Beach area.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope you will visit us again when you visit the Surfside Beach area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews