We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still seeking 5 star on the Grand Strand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a nice, average hotel. The best part of our visit was the room and the lobby were VERY CLEAN. I've stayed in too many hotels that boast cleanliness but are grimy. The next best part was location, being able to walk across a dune and be on the beach was fabulous. We didn't go on the pier this time, but it was nice to have the option.
We stayed in the thick of summer and being Southern I know it is almost impossible to get the humidity out of a hotel room, but it was barely noticeable. The room itself was a good size, beds were comfortable, plenty of towels. The room decor was a little dated, but the lobby looked like it had recently been refreshed. The staff were extremely pleasant, which sometimes can make a world of difference. The pool area was clean, and the pool water was clear. It was tropical feeling with the palm trees and ocean behind you. The pool area is not as big as it looks on the website however. There was no restaurant in the building but a cute diner across the street where we bought breakfast the next day (gave my son a HUGE chocolate milk so he's voted yes for going there again!)--I can't recall the name of the diner. Be prepared in the summer for long wait times at any of the close food establishments.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. While we are not a 5 star property we do offer a nice facility, in a great location, at an affordable price. We offer beach side parking which is a rare find these days. We are surrounded by several great restaurants, the Surfside Pier, and many other fun attractions are just minutes away from the Surfside Beach Resort. We hope to see you again very soon and even though we are not a 5 star property we will continue to provide 5 star service every time a guest walks through our doors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,431 - 1,437 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our first room had roaches in the bathroom. The manager gladly moved us to a room down the hallway. Unfortunately, the toilet wasn't properly cleaned, but we didn't feel like moving rooms again at 10:30 PM. The view from the balcony was great. It was OK, but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We are so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with your room. We take great pride in having the cleanest rooms possible and that is the usually the case here at the Surfside Beach Resort. While we have regular treatments for pests they do still find their way into our property from time to time. Most come in through open sliding doors and become trapped when the doors close behind them. When we are made aware of their presence we immediately call our pest control company to have the problem resolved.

On occasion we also miss cleaning a toilet, sink or tub as thoroughly as we should. For that we are truly sorry. During the off season rooms sometimes sit for several days between occupancy and with a reduced staff it is hard to get into every room every day to make sure the toilets are flushed and everything is as perfect as we want. We will work harder to make sure we are doing a better job.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issues you experienced. Without your feedback we do not know where we are deficient and we want to know where we need to improve. We hope you will give us another try on you next visit to the beautiful Grand Strand of South Carolina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My room was immaculate. The staff were very friendly ,cheerful and helpful. The hotel itself was in an excellent location with a place to eat your breakfast on a pier overlooking the beach right next door to a fun place to eat with a waterview across the parking lot to a beach-themed bar on the other side. I would highly recommend this Hotel to any of my own family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandygirl2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about your recent stay with us here at the Surfside Beach Resort. It is hard to find a nice place to stay that doesn't cost an arm and a leg these days but that is exactly what folks find when they arrive at our door. We have the perfect location and a very clean hotel to go along with it. Our staff is one of the best around and our rates are hard to beat. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

seriously great hotel
20 minutes from myrtle beach airport.
spacious rooms.
really cute decor, not that it really matters.
it felt really safe-- interior corridors, which most hotels in this area don't have.
very clean.
super friendly desk help.
will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scjulie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thanks for the kind words. We work very hard to make sure every stay is better than expected. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best service available and we offer one of the best values on the beach as well. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

You can't beat the value for this beach front hotel. The rates are excellent for being a beach front hotel with it's own private section of beach. Super clean rooms, hospitable staff and great location. You also get a discount at the nearby restaurants if you show your key card! They also have live entertainment next door at Scott

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsFDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

It's great to hear that you had such a good time while you were here at the Surfside Beach Resort. We hope you will tell all of your friends and bring them with you on your next visit. We'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Didn't even know you could get a hotel for $35/night! Came to $47 when taxes were added. Wanted to save a little money on our getaway, so stayed here 1 night on our way to Charleston! Don't very often stay in a 2 1/2 star hotel, but I will say for the price we have no complaints. The hotel is on a nice beach, but the way the hotel is designed all the rooms are side view. When checking in we asked if we could have a room with a nice view of the ocean. The gentleman kindly changed our room to a 7th floor and closest to the beach. Stayed in room 704. Wish we would have paid the extra $10 for a king bed...I mis-understood and thought all the double rooms where queen, but ours was just full. Oh well, that is the only complaint I have and we could have avoided that if I hadn't been trying to save $10!:) Wouldn't want to spend a week at the beach here, as the rooms are quite small, and I am spoiled and like a few more comforts, but for a night or two it was great!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thanks you for staying with us. We are glad you found us and we hope you will return soon. Just to clear one thing up however, all of our double rooms do have queen sized beds in them. We have no full sized beds on the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hi, we loved staying right on the beach. The hotel is older but, as others mention, it is kept clean and pretty well maintained. It is pretty no-frills but it matches the price that you pay. The area is overflowing with things to do so it's not really necessary to have things right at the hotel.

Room Tip: Elevators are super slow so you probably want to get the lowest floor available and use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thanks for choosing the Surfside Beach Resort for your recent stay in the Myrtle Beach area. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will share your experience with all of your friends. We would love to add them to our family of friends that stay with us year after year. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
533 reviews
11.8 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,898 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,899 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in Surfside Beach
111 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 15 S Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-3633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range: $98 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing