We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“props to the cleaning staff! Hotel was fine for 2-3 star.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“props to the cleaning staff! Hotel was fine for 2-3 star.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'd like to start by saying they have a very trustworthy cleaning staff. We never leave are valuables out and we always ask for no service to our room. This time we asked for more towels and they were delivered while we were out. This one time, we forgot to lock things up. We left a sony camera, our lap top, our camcorder and a $100.00 bill out in the open. When we returned, everything was just were we left it. Thanks much to the cleaning lady and I hope you get recognized in some way for this. Room 813 on the oct 13th- 15th.
Other wise the hotel itself was so so. It was nice and quiet. We had a clean room. The staff was friendly. I missed a few things, like an ironing board and iron. I was very upset that we could not leave our balcony door open in our NON smoking room, because all around us the smoke from others smoking on there balcony's came into our room. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were not. The garage was closed and not available for use. The elevators were a bit scary to get in, we chose to walk the stairs a lot. The hot tub was clean, but more like bath water than a hot tub. The way to the beach was easy and clean. The decor was.....well.....cheap. I think our headboard was made out of plastic. All in all it was good for what it was, just don't think any kind of luxery.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed room near the ocean. Non of the rooms are ocean front, but we had a decent o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJF1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Public Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for recognizing our staff in your review. The Surfside Beach Resort opened in 1987 and we still have housekeepers that worked here that very first day. It is rare to find a staff with more than a few years at the same property these days. That is a testament not only to their honesty but also to their terrific cleaning capabilities. While we are an older property we work very hard to maintain it and will continue to do so. We are working to improve the elevators and other areas that still need updating. Our wireless internet system is undergoing a complete overhaul and will be state of the art very shortly. We hope you will come back to stay with us again as we feel we offer one of the best accommodation values along the Grand Strand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    305
    102
    45
    24
See reviews for
537
449
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My best friend and I booked a different hotel on-line for a Girls Weekend to celebrate our 35th year of friendship. We had no idea it was Bike Week! We used On-Star for directions, which actually brought us to this hotel instead of the hotel we booked on-line. We were thrilled to see the pier with a restaurant, the Bar & Grill across the street, plus Scotty's beach bar. The hotel staff was so nice and friendly that we cancelled our reservations at the other hotel and stayed the weekend at this hotel. Best decision we ever made! Ruby, Bill, Ken, Jessica and the other staff were great! Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable! Even though it was October, the weather was a warm 82 degrees and Ruby loaned us her personal beach chairs so we could enjoy the warm weather. We placed our chairs on the beach in front of Scotty's and listened to music all day including a live band from 5:00 - 9:00pm. The staff gave us great directions and recommended places to eat! Valentino's was excellent! We met some of the nicest biker's and now my best friend and I are planning on making this our annual get-a-way. Thank you guys for making this our best girl's weekend get-a-way ever!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahayes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Public Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are so happy you found us and we look forward to your next trip to the Surfside Beach Resort. Plan on having another great time while you are here as we are always working on ways to make every stay better than the last. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I took 21 ladies to Surfside Beach Resort for a long weekend. We were very pleased with the decor, the location and the staff! All were excellent! We booked through Hotels.com and the only issue we had was the agent for Hotels.com had only reserved us for one night! I was sweating it because at first the resort thought there may be an issue on Saturday night but Ken and Bill worked everything out and our stay was wonderful! The rooms are nice and very clean. The staff extremely courteous and the location....couldn't have been better!!! Restaurants and shops within walking distance and with your room card you get a discount. You will not be sorry if you stay here! We will be going back on a regular basis!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have an oceanview...they are on the side of the resort. Of course the higher the better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debclowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We enjoyed having your group stay with us. Even though the communication between the resort and your booking agent was not the best we were able to work everything out with very little inconvenience to you and the ladies with you. We are happy about that. We hope next time those details will be worked out well in advance of your stay. From the photos you posted it looks like you made the rounds while you were here and enjoyed all that the Myrtle Beach area has to offer. There is something for everyone here and our knowledgeable staff is great at pointing you in the right direction to where ever you may be going. It will be nice to see all of you on your next trip so make those plans and head on back to the Surfside Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

From Bill taking my reservation on the phone and signing us in, to Nicky at the front desk giving great advice, planning and directions... the room was clean, location was perfect... making for a great trip! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
You are welcome! We do have a great staff that makes everyone feel at home while they are here. We are glad you had a good time and we hope you will continue to let others know about our special little place in the sun here along the Grand Strand of South Carolina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We purchased a Groupon for the Surfside Beach Resort at a rate of $105/night- I'm not sure how this compares to their normal rates, but the weather was still beautiful in late September. The hotel is perfectly located right on the beach in mostly-residential Surfside Beach. My husband and I both thought the area was the perfect mix of quiet with just enough in terms of restaurants and bars within walking distance. The rooms were not fancy by any means, but perfectly clean and well kept. The mini fridge and microwave is a nice feature for a stay at the beach, and all rooms (I think) have a balcony with an ocean view. It was a shame that they don't actually have any ocean front rooms- we would have gladly paid more for that, but the view was nice all the same. The small, outdated TVs were the only downside- I don't think I've stayed in a hotel in the last few years that didn't have at least a small flatscreen. But, you don't really go to the beach to watch TV, so just a small inconvenience. The pool/hot tub area was nice, also clean and well maintained, and there was plentiful, free parking. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We have lots of specials going in the fall of the year here at the Surfside Beach Resort. We want everyone to know how wonderful the weather is in the fall and how much more you can do because the crowds have slimmed down from the summer crush months. We have restaurants and shopping within walking distance and many folks park their cars upon arrival and never go back to them until they start packing to leave. Our private beach access right under the building makes it so easy to get to the beach and the beach side parking makes loading and unloading the car a breeze. We are working to replace all of the older TV's and many rooms are already equipped with them. Please come back to see us again very soon. We'll be waiting with clean rooms, great dining, beautiful beaches and smiling faces that always say welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a good experence with this hotel. Very clean. Good location to nearby pier,resturants. The Surfside area is pretty quite unlike the heart of Myrtle Beach. We booked here after all the reviews. We had a king bed on the 8th floor with ocean view. We paid a totla of $172.00 for two nights from September 21-23.

Room Tip: Bring your fishing rods, the pier is next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safetynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
The Surfside Beach resort is one of the best values on the Grand Strand. We have a superior housekeeping staff to keep the rooms clean as well as one of the best engineering departments anywhere. At the end of the summer season we are still getting great reviews about the condition of the hotel and the cleanliness of our rooms. That is a testament to how great the staff is that keeps the property running each and every day. It is no small feat keeping a property in such good shape and it is nice to know that all of their hard work does not go unnoticed. We will be waiting for your return visit and we will be ready to once again make your stay one that you will remember always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very nice location, rooms were nice. Hotel was recently renovated, great location in Surfsise Beach away from the hustle abd bustle of Myrtle Beach. Nice restaurants all within walking distance. Good proximity to Murrell's Inlet and restaurants there. Would definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We are always happy to welcome new members into our Surfside Beach Resort family. We work very hard to make the guest experience one of the very best. From the greeting you receive at the front desk when you arrive to the smiling faces of our great housekeeping and maintenance staff members, you can always count a fun time while staying with us. Be sure to tell all of you friends about us so they can visit us and experience all that the Surfside Beach area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
11.8 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
11.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Property: Surfside Beach Resort
Address: 15 S Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-3633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing