We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Jack's Restaurant

Fat Jack's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had prime rib there one evening. I must say it was probably one of the best I have had. Had enough to take home & make a couple of sandwiches the next day.
Nice quiet romantic setting

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Local54359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    39
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Read about this in review of best wings in Myrtle Beach. The wing combo appetizers are a great idea! Really enjoyed the house and hot sauces. Wings were good sized and cooked just right. Friendly staff with good service. The staff even brought us an umbrella to get to our car in the pouring rain. A great find!!

Helpful?
Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Maria at Fat Jacks was awesome. She brought us fresh food to our table as we waited for our meal. The wings we ordered were perfect. Big in size and flavor. The best we have ever had. Thank you Maria for making our experience thru Jason's House wonderful and so much appreciated.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dRominger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Wings at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I go out with friends at least once a week in my hometown, during my week vacation I found myself experiencing "wing withdrawals." In search of some excellent wings, I went to Fat Jack's...it did not disappoint. Open since the 70s, this strip mall restaurant is borderline dive with what appears to be some of the original decor (look up and check out the cool ceiling art), but don't let a dated atmosphere steer you away. A bucket of beers and wing platter was at an affordable price point for two. The wings...WOW...it gives my regular place a run for the money. The wings are cooked and coated with sauce in a consistent manner. The hot sauce used on the wings is spicy, but not hot to the point that you can't taste anything and was complemented by some awesome buttermilk ranch dressing. The platters allow you to mix and match different types of sauces for your wings and choose 2 sides. Fat Jack's is definitely on my list of must go-to places while at the beach now.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Wings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Had a completely different experience than Robert C. First of all you would never go to this place based on the exterior. It's on Highway 17 in the middle of a row of stores, some of them vacant. We met the cook on the beach surfing and decided to give it a try. We were warmly greeted and sat down right away. We ordered a combo of three different wings with curly fries and onion rings. The honey barbque, parmesan garlic and sesame wings were all delicious, very crispy and delicately coated with sauce. The blue cheese was fresh with large chunks of cheese. Two cooks came out to see if we were pleased as well as the waitress. The interior is a bit dated but clean. We got there early but by the time we left, the place was PACKED with locals and tourists alike. The only negative was that it was a bit warm inside because of all the fryers in the kitchen. I really enjoyed my meal and the atmosphere and will definately go again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LTT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Jack's Restaurant also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fat Jack's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing