We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Glory of Greek Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opa! - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Opa!
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
tallmadge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Glory of Greek Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Finding real ethnic food in the Land of Shellfish can be as hard as finding that real pearl in an oyster.
Of course there are plenty of Italian and Mexican eateries along the Grand Strand.
But real Greek? Not so much. Opa in Surfside Beach is one of the exceptions.
Spinach pie, lemon orzo soup, souvlaki, salad with feta, baklava. . . so many favorites.
The meat for the lamb and beef gyros sandwiches and platters is sliced from vertical spits right on the premises. Lots of area eateries offer gyros. But many if not most of them buy a big chunk of meat that has been cut up into slices – bacon style – and frozen. Separate a few strips of meat, warm it up and serve it in a pita.
Taste aside – and there is a huge difference between fresh and processed gyro meat – how do you know when you are getting the real thing?
When the cooking and slicing are done at the restaurant, the pieces of meat are not uniform. So explains Irene, one of the sweet and knowledgeable servers at Opa.
The place is welcoming. The food is good. The prices are fair. The place, right on Surfside Drive near Business 17, is easy to find. Don’t be put off if you look in the window and don’t see anyone. There is more seating toward the back, which seems to be a customer preference.
And if you order a gyros sandwich or platter, ask Irene to pronounce it for you. First, the S is silent unless it is plural. Second, it is NOT pronounced with a hard G -- as in gigantic. Rather, it’s more of a Y sound -- as in year. Kind of like “year-o,” but that isn’t exactly right.
Ask Irene. She says it best.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WheelingWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“There are Better Greek Restaurants elsewhere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is just an average to below average Greek restaurant...gyro and salad, including Baklava dessert was below average, nice ambiance, but overall better Greek food is at Athens Restaurant in Socastee. Baklava was poor and very stale like it had been sitting on shelf for a few days and not fresh and soft textured. The service was okay (I mean people just doing what they are hired to do...wait on guests), but food was below average.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finally a real Gyro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

For 18 years I've tried to find a location in the Myrtle Beach area that serves a real Gyro. Finally in Surfside Beach I found it at Opa's. What a friendly little place with a cozy, warm atmosphere. I can't wait to go back to try other entrees with the family.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently well prepared delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great service and great food with Mediterranean flair. The owner really cares and the restaurant is clean and has a good friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank booncor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great new spot in Surfside - MUST TRY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here the night before Thanksgiving - after a long trip down from CT. The food was simply awesome! We started out with the warm pita and tzaziki...we simply devoured it! I ordered the chicken kabob with rice - it was divine. The chicken was moist and flavorful. My husband had the spanakopita - also wonderful. My son enjoyed the gyro sandwich and steak fries. My daughter loved her fettucine alfredo. We ended the night by splitting the baklava for dessert. The owners are 2 brothers and we chatted with one of them for a long time. We love that this is no chain- you can feel the love and pride these folks put into their restaurant and their food. Very nice place and we will be sure to come back. Our only hope is that this place stays around for a long time. It is a wonderful succesor to the lovely Charleston Cafe that was here before Opa! Please do not miss this spot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank northernbelle300H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opa! also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing