We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helping me forget Nibils”
Review of Surf Diner

Surf Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: offers "casual- style service of popular Grand Strand fare." The menu is breakfast, lunch and dinner service, including calabash fried selections of local seafood and classic comfort food. There is also full bar.Ocean front dining at its best. Enjoy a hearty breakfast, a quick lunch or a relaxing dinner all while gazing at the surf. Located on the Surfside Beach Pier the Surf Diner offers traditional favorites including Calabash style seafood and local favorites including: hand pressed burgers, homemade crab cakes, fresh chicken salad, hand-shucked oysters and many other great items.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Helping me forget Nibils”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

On the site of the famous Nibils at Surfside which moved to Myrtle Beach, Surf Diner has expanded the deck and added a bar. Breakfast I my favorite meal there but other meals are excellent too. Can't beat the view!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Curt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    151
    42
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

This restaurant located right smack in the middle of Surfside Beach is open for all three meals. This was our fifth trip to Surfside and always make it a point to eat here at least once. The food is good and the servers sweet.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cocogirlsnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back.”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

View is nice, but food not so much. The first time we went I had a hamburger which was very lumpy yuck! The second time was for breakfast. The bacon tasted like it had been cooked in old grease. Waitresses weren't that great either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plk40atmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great place for breakfast!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We walked a mile (each way) down the beach to eat here this morning and everyone once again loved their food. We have eaten here multiple times over the years and have never been disappointed. The food and service are always fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome oceanfront diner!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

With oceanfront diners I've come to expect high prices or lower quality food, if not both. The Surf Diner has neither! The prices are very competitive and the food is great. I love the sausage gravy. The staff is very friendly. We had Sammie during our breakfast visit today, great guy! The diner is right on the beach at the beginning of the Surfside pier so the view from the patio is hard to beat. There is easy access from the beach too. Definitely worth a visit for breakfast and/or lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Diner also viewed

Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Surf Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing