We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for breakfast or lunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Apple Bagels

Big Apple Bagels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast or lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Bagels are made fresh daily. We stopped in on our first day for lunch. Everything was freshly made. We went back the next day for bagels and muffins for the beach house. You must try the chocolate cheesecake or strawberry cheesecake muffins, delicious! Staff very polite and food was prepared quickly, although it was busy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MountainTopGirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real Bagels make this worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I are locals who visit a couple times a month. It's almost impossible to find real bagels in the deep south, but this place is the Real Deal with the bagels made fresh on the premises. I'm partial to salt bagels, and my wife loves pumpernickel, but with a huge array to choose from, you'll find something to savor. This place specializes in breakfast sandwiches, but come later and get great lunch sandwiches as well. My wife recently had the Italian sandwich, and I had the roast beef with Parmesan. Both were stuffed and tasty on fresh rolls. For two dollars more we could have gotten them really loaded. You can get something cheaper from a Burger King or a Mac Donald's, but it won't taste nearly as good. Sometimes the line can be long in the morning because they're that good, but the staff is efficient, and the wait is never more than a couple of minutes. The atmosphere is informal with plenty of seating inside and a couple of small tables outside overlooking a parking lot, but you won't mind when you sink your teeth into one of their sandwiches. Coffee comes in a variety of flavors and the refills are free. What is there to not like? Some of the other locals are not going to like me for giving away their secret, but this place is too good not to share.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillAarrgghh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great variety, yummy bagels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Good variety of bagels and open early. We came here after our morning beach walks. Prices were reasonable and service was good.

Helpful?
Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best bagels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We come to Big Apple at least every other weekend to get bagels. Their bagels are great and are definitely worth the slightly higher price tag. My only negative is that they tend to run low on selection if you arrive too late in the morning. Usually we take the bagels to go, but their breakfast sandwiches are also very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good bagels.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Good variety of bagels. Always freshly made. Friendly staff. Clean environment. Highly recommend for tourists.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Apple Bagels also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Big Apple Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing