We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Cafe - CLOSED

The Village Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The restaurant is quaint and has an old-town, family-owned feel. Staff was friendly and the menu had plenty of yummy options. Everything we ordered was very tasty--eggs, bacon, sausage links, biscuit and gravy. One of our cups of coffee tasted a bit burned, but otherwise the coffee was pretty good. We enjoyed it very much, and were thankful for the recommendation from previous TripAdvisor reviewers. It was actually due to those reviews that we went at all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReiseLust_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good people, good times every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We moved to Surfside Beach in February 2012 and discovered The Village Cafe. Ron and Darlene, the owners offer tasty Southern cooking at reasonable prices. They are open year round and we try to get there once a week. Everyone is so friendly! The servers remember what we like to drink, are fast on the coffee refills and make us feel like we are part of the family. Huge omelets, homemade biscuits, hash brown casserole make breakfast a treat. Lunch offers chicken bog (I never heard of it before, but it is awesome), homemade macaroni and cheese, fried okra, pork chops, homemade chicken salad...can you tell we love it?! Maybe we will see you there sometime.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Curlygirl383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I went here for breakfast. He had pancakes and I had a Southern omelette. Both meals were very good! The hash brown casserole that comes as side option with the omelette is amazing!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zinniac28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We went to Village Cafe for breakfast based on reviews. Everything tasted homemade and service was friendly. My eggs weren't done as ordered but the server immediately took them back & had them recooked. I think this was because the electric was out for several minutes in the middle of breakfast and the grill probably wasn't heated to the correct temperature after the outage. The hashbrown casserole was delicious and my husband had an omelette that he said was also excellent. With everything considered, it is a nice spot for breakfast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DOWN HOME COOKING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We come to Myrtle Beach every year and always look for a home cooked meal. I don't like eating at chain food resturants. Well this was a great find, fresh home cooked breakfast. We have been there 3 times this week, omlets, chicken bog, and even just the plan eggs,ham and homefries are good. We will return

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburghcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Cafe also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing