We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood lover's dream come true!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benjamin's Calabash Seafood Buffet

Benjamin's Calabash Seafood Buffet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
2 reviews
“Seafood lover's dream come true!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

All You Can Eat Buffet, especially crab legs! It's always a full house but surprisingly it doesn't take long to be seated!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    33
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newberry, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

great food the only problem is that there is to much to choose from. my suggestion is to go verrry hungry and you will leave stuffed. also love their salt water aquarium

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jason w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Quality, Flavorful SeaFood, and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Best Blackened Grouper I ever had! All you can eat HUGE crab legs! SO many items to choose from and everything was delicious! Server who kept handing out the crab legs was very generous! The staff was cordial and efficient and even though it is a big restaurant, the atmosphere was pleasant and relaxing. Meats, fruit, desserts...you name it! Watching your weight? You can still find plenty of healthy seafood and side options.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not worth the time or money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Supposedly they've only been open about 2 weeks which might have accounted for the poor food and service. And if you would like an alcoholic drink they hadn't been granted their liquor and beer license yet. We were here on a Saturday night but, at 7pm there were only 14 tables in the whole place and they were not at all busy. We watched our waitress sit at another empty table and chat and check her phone as drinks went dry and the plates stacked up (it's a buffet). We got to the point we just stacked the empties onto an empty table after a while. The carpet area around the buffet was kind of squishy and sticky?? Which is odd considering they had only been open for 2 weeks. The bathrooms had that sewage gas backed up kind of a smell. The buffet selection was nothing that you would compare to some of the others in the area. There were maybe 30 different things with of course the crab legs being the main item on the buffet. There wasn't really much of anything else especially if you have members in your party that aren't big on the seafood but, come along. Even at 7pm you could tell some of the slower moving items had been sitting for quite some time and some items were even cold.

As we were leaving, a member of our party stopped and asked if they could have the corporate office contact information as they wanted to contact them about the overall poor experience. The young lady there called for a manager who was about 20 years old. When he was asked for the information his response was "Why, who are you?" Uh, a customer that's who?!? Anyway, when it was explained to him what had taken place he then asked them if they wanted a job there since they know so much about restaurants! Are you kidding me??!! Anyway, won't be back, recommend you skip this location and go to one of the other dozen or so similar places in the area. At this rate they probably won't be here much longer anyway.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great seafood buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The buffet was more than what I expected. The customer service and the initial greeting upon entrance was surprising. i was not expecting a mini tour of the buffet and the restaurant. I know it is a seafood buffet but the chicken tenders had an excellent flavor. The only bad thing was the crab legs were old at first. But when I mentioned it they placed a fresh bunch out. The selection of food is overwhelming. The desert bar has more than enough different sweets to please everyone. The restaurant is also huge and i could not imagine ti full to capacity.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johhny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin's Calabash Seafood Buffet also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Benjamin's Calabash Seafood Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing