We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Catfish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubba's Fish Shack

Bubba's Fish Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Catfish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We eat here every couple of weeks while in the area for the winter. Bubba's has the best catfish. The lunch basket special is good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank MJP695rue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    261
    116
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
2 reviews
“Very good casual seafood spot- love the fried nickel pickles, & catfish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We always eat there a couple of times at least while we are visiting there as snowbirds. Sometimes we just like a casual meal rather than a full course dinner and we stay on Ocean Blvd. so it is just a stone's throw away....

Maureen

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No remoulade po boy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Went there because they had Shrimp po boy on the menu.
Very disappointed as there was no remoulade sauce.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka
Level Contributor
180 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A FANTASTIC-out of the Way- casual dining place to eat seafood GREAT FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Finding Ocean Blvd. in Surfside Beach was a shore without a GPS, but I had NO trouble finding it the SECOND night as we had to return for another meal before leaving Myrtle Beach. This place is GREAT. The place in on stilts as it is right across the street from the beach, but they do have an elevator for handicapped. The HUSH Puppies and Corn Bread were the BEST I have eaten ANYWHERE in the USA. The owner stated they are 'home made' every day. YUM_YUM. The Catfish are fantastic also. When we return again to Myrtle Beach, we will definitely go the 5-6 miles down to Surfside Beach for another great, reasonably priced, great tasting meal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Frequent Visitor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We eat here several times a year. They offer a good menu, with several Calabash items. The decor and seating is great. they have several large belt driven fans overhead that are neat. You can also sit outside and watch the cars, people, and ocean. I often get the fried shrimp, oysters, or one of their salads. I would recommend Bubba's to everyone!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jcheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's Fish Shack also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bubba's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing