We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cool Restaurant, Great Food and Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River City Cafe

River City Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool Restaurant, Great Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We really liked this joint. It was very busy and hectic, but the staff was running around and managing it well. Great burgers, great service, amazing view! We'll eat here again when in Surfside.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HuntsvilleOutbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    259
    83
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaston, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favorite Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of my favorite places in the world. The highlight of my trip to Surfside is always getting to eat at River City. Great service and great food combined with a beautiful view of the ocean. Love it in the summer time when you can sit at the tables outside and watch the water and pigeons while you eat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Um....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Well, let me just say our service was SO slow. We actually had to switch waiters too. We were there for about two hours. It took forever just to get a refill. The burgers weren't even that great anyways. I guess I went on a bad day, because I don't agree at all with all of these good reviews.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We go here often and I still have not tried all the different types of burgers. Fun place and usually a good staff (though that can vary). Great view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank smallmoon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best burger I've had at the beach yet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

River City has got awesome burgers and great fries. Very nice portion sizes for the price. The inside atmosphere is very casual utilizing graffiti and mismatched furniture as part of their motif, which I think is very appropriate for their style. However the outside porch should be screened, as the gulls and pigeons will invite themselves, to me not very sanitary. Overall if your looking for casual dining with an beautiful view of the Atlantic, and great burgers you won't be disappointed. Two can dine for $25.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OceanEER22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Cafe also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to River City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing