We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, comfortable accomodations for a crowd...”

Review of The 'B' Hive

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Surfside Beach, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LoganCarv...
2 reviews
“Comfortable but needs some upkeep”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

There are about 11 of us staying here currently and we are pretty comfortable and enjoying ourselves but there are some definite maintenance/upkeep issues with the house. In my room there was hair among other debris on the floor and under the bed along with some stains on the mattress. The private pool is convenient & I don't expect it to be spotless with it being on a beach and being outside but the bottom of the pool is pretty dirty and even has chips coming off the concrete floating around. The WiFi in my room is also non existent and I cannot do anything internet related without waiting forever but I'm at a beach so that's not a big concern until late at night when I'm relaxing in my room browsing the web or YouTube. One thing I'm not really complaining about but find weird is the rooms all have different TVs. Most rooms have super tiny tvs while the other 3 have bigger tvs (kid rooms maybe?). Also found a glove in the window ceiling. With all that said I enjoy the spacious room, nice dining/living room area & the location but I will probably pick a different house the next time I visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P
Acworth, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The "B" Hive was a bust...”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Unfortunately, we will not return to this rental. We had a group of 8 adults and 2 toddlers that stayed from 8/6/16 a 8/13/16. Whoever is supposed to be maintaining this rental home for the owners is doing a horrible job, or the owners are aware and don't mind. We were deeply disappointed, because this rental had mostly good reviews, which helped finalize our decision to stay there.

Surfside Realty Sales Manager, Alexis, asked that I email her our negative review of the rental so she could get with the owners ASAP. I did that on 8/13, hoping it would somehow help, but we never received feedback, including acknowledgement that she received the information.

Our experience included dirty, stained carpet throughout that was barely vacuumed, a burned out interior stair light that we had to request maintenance on, for obvious safety reasons. The 2nd floor bedroom that the 1 and 4 year old stayed in with the parents had an open window that luckily was found and closed, again for obvious safety reasons, but was just an oversight of a previous guest. Our guests told us their king bed mattress pad had hair and sand on it when they went to put sheets on it and they would not use it. Blind on upstairs bedroom deck door with ocean view was busted up and did not function. Ceiling showed signs of leaks in 2 places and did leak in an upstairs bathroom when it rained. The other area where the ceiling was peeling from water is downstairs above the dining/kitchen area. Mildew shower liners and tub bases were stained, if they were "clean" we all still felt like they were dirty. Bugs (tiny ants) appeared on the kitchen counter/sink/wall daily. We were spraying, killing and wiping them up daily. The lamp in the 2nd floor connecting bath double bed room had no knob and only the ceing light could be used. Pool needs resurfaced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfside Beach hotels

Larry S
Minerva
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Six bedrooms But Could Use A Bit of Maintenance”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

First let me say we enjoyed our stay at the "B" Hive and would return. The facility can accommodate a large group with its six bedrooms and has an acceptable amount of room for conversational seating and eating. (Although a bit tight on the eating aspect.) It has a extremely nice and clean pool area. There was even an outdoor gas grill! Over the years we have stayed at a number of second row houses in this very same area. No doubt these rental units get a lot of wear and tear and they show it. The "B" Hive was no different. While the front porches were very pleasant those nice rocking chairs could certainly use some paint as could all the outside railings. The railing on the porch off the living room was loose and some day, if not repaired, could be a problem. That porch also had a serious water leak during rains that left a very small area that was dry enough for seating. Also, one of the group got their foot snagged by a protruding nail - which is no longer protruding. It would also be nice if there were a few more towel racks in the bathrooms. While we haven't had to do it before, you may want to bring some hangers for the closets. The house is meant for large groups and that needs to be kept in mind in regards to these types of details. But, as anyone that owns a house knows there is always something on it that needs to be done. With just a little bit of work the "B" Hive could be a really nice place for that $3,974 a week (including taxes and "other charges" - we brought our own linens.) But, looking at the big picture we did enjoy our stay and none of these rather minor observations would stop us from returning. Also, I should add this is the first time we used Surfside Realty Company and we were very happy with them not only during the rental process but in getting a fast response from them when the stove malfunctioned.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The accommodations for a large family group (15 and a crib for a baby)
Liked least: A bit beat up.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B
Harrison, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable accomodations for a crowd. Great location, too!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2011

This was the perfect place for our family reunion. The B Hive had everything we needed and more. The kitchen has more pots, pans, and small appliances than anyone could possibly need for meal preparations, as well as dishes and implements to eat with. It is clean, comfortable and wonderfully decorated. Everyone had their own space and there was also plenty of space to be together. The porches provide a wonderful place to enjoy the warm days in the comfort of a rocking chair in the shade. We totally enjoyed ourselves. Thank you for a wonderful time!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The porches and proximity to the beach (and beach access).
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2014
We are so happy your enjoyed your beach vacation with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing