We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early bird” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar

California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy giant-sized fare from the California Dreaming kitchen. Start with Barbecue Chicken Nachos to curb your cravings; then slow-cooked Prime Rib, “fall-off-the-bone” baby back Ribs or giant Seafood Platters - served with Shrimp, Oysters, Flounder and Blue Crab Claws. Voted “Best Traditional American Restaurant” by WMBF News and The Sun News “Best of the Beach”. The restaurant features seasonal patio seating; large party carry-out and catering/delivery; Monday night trivia; and late night bar bites.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Early bird”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is aclass place with great atmosphere and top service and good prices.and of course great food and if you like a cocktail the prices are the best in town for everday prices to.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigolhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    83
    28
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wished it was better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We chose to come here at the last minute. Not a long wait time considering the time of year. They seated our large party at one long table, which is common, but hard to have good conversations. The food was decent, but average, even though the prices are higher than average. Beer was cold, which is a bonus!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Nachos, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not knowing if a California named restaurant in Myrtle Beach would be any good, we decided to give this place a try. The lot was pretty crowded so that was a good sign. We started with the onion ring loaf and it was very tasty. The accompanying sauce was delicious, just wish they gave us a little more. I had the seafood nachos, which we loaded with salmon, little shrimp and covered with a lobster and cheese sauce. Delicious. My wife had a club sandwich with thick cut french fries and her selection was excellent. The menu is quite small but the have a great happy hour menu to boot. We will be back. Our server, Elizabeth was the most attentive and pleasant server and we would ask to be sat in her section whenever we go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnBC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have visited several locations (Greenville, North Myrtle, Myrtle, Atlanta, Charleston) and love this restaurant! They have the absolute best potato soup anywhere around. I tend to order the fried shrimp or filet when I go and it is great. I would highly recommend any California Dreaming restaurant or other Centrarchy sister restaurant!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jcheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enormous salad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The California Dreaming salad ($9.99) is enormous and delicious. They do have a smaller version ($5.99). Try the house dressing, hot bacon honey mustard. I ordered the house dressing but our bizarre waiter (Robert) decided I should have the regular honey mustard, go figure. Excellent sweet tea and you get a suprise with your salad, a honey buttered croiossant!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LakeNormanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing